# Heartbreak
New York agonisingly denied historic championship win by last-gasp Leitrim in extra-time
Leitrim kicked two points in the final minute of stoppage-time in extra-time to seal the win.

Leitrim 0-19

New York 1-15

(after extra-time)

John Fallon reports from Gaelic Park, New York

NOEL PLUNKETT BROKE New York’s hearts with a winning point in the 92nd minute of a gripping encounter at Gaelic Park in New York.

Jamie Clarke with Paddy Maguire Andy Marlin / INPHO Andy Marlin / INPHO / INPHO

New York seemed poised for their first ever win in the Connacht SFC when they led by three points five minutes from the end of the second period of extra-time.

But Leitrim fought back and levelled in the final minutes through Shane Quinn before Noel Plunkett produced the winner in the dying moments of a pulsating clash.

New York made a glorious start and the possibility of a shock result seemed on the cards when they raced into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead after just ten minutes.

New York caused the visitors all sorts of trouble when they ran at them at pace and Leitrim struggled to stay in the game.

An early Keith Beirne free should have settled Leitrim but with David Culhane and Shane Hogan on top in midfield, the Exiles moved plenty of ball into attack.

Shane Hogan celebrates scoring his sides first goal Andy Marlin / INPHO Andy Marlin / INPHO / INPHO

Jamie Clarke was sharp in those early attacks and he helped set up Hogan for a goal after four minutes.

But New York faded after that bright opening and only managed one point in the closing 25 minutes of the opening half.

Leitrim did not panic and outscored New York by 0-8 to 0-1 from the 15th minute, with Emlyn Mulligan and Keith Beirne doing most to settle them.

The introduction of Dean McGovern helped Leitrim get a foothold in midfield and while they kicked seven wides, they landed enough to draw level thanks to Ryan O’Rourke eight minutes from the break before McGovern edged them in front to lead by 0-9 to 1-5 at the interval.

New York started the second half superbly, getting good ball into Clarke and he made the most of the possession, setting Luke Kelly up for the equaliser.

Donnelly landed a couple of frees before Ryan O’Rourke responded for Leitrim and then Beirne tacked on another couple of points to lead by 0-12 to 1-8 after 45 minutes.

David Freeman with Brendan Gallagher Andy Marlin / INPHO Andy Marlin / INPHO / INPHO

Clarke tied the sides for the fourth time with a free after 56 minutes before kicking one from play nine minutes from time.

Hopes of a historic win increased when Kevin O’Grady doubled the lead with a fine point but Leitrim hit back and edged in front with three points in a row before Daniel McKenna forced extra-time with a late free.

Leitrim kicked four wides in the first period of extra-time and trailed by 1-14 to 0-15 at the interval as O’Grady and Clarke — with the score of the day from the right wing — landed efforts just before they changed around for the final time.

New York seemed poised for victory when O’Grady out three between them but they couldn’t close the deal and Leitrim escaped in the end.

Scorers for Leitrim: Keith Beirne 0-7 (0-2 45, 0-3f), Emlyn Mulligan 0-3, Ryan O’Rourke 0-2, Shane Quinn 0-2, Dean McGovern 0-1, Mark Plunkett 0-1, Aiden Flynn 0-1, Darren Rooney 0-1, Noel Plunkett 0-1.

Scorers for New York: Jamie Clarke 0-5 (0-2f), Shane Hogan 1-0, Tony Donnelly 0-3 (0-2f), Kevin O’Grady 0-3, David Culhane 0-1, Luke Kelly 0-1, Neil Collins 0-1, Daniel McKenna 0-1 (0-1f)


1. Diarmuid McKiernan (Allen Gaels)

2. Paddy Maguire (St Brigid’s, Dublin)
3. Micheál McWeeney (St Mary’s)
4. Oisín Madden (Mohill)

5. James Rooney (Glencar/Manorhamilton)
6. Donal Wrynn (Feenagh/St Caillin’s)
7. Shane Quinn (Mohill)

8. Mark Plunkett (Aughawillan)
9. Domhnaill Flynn (Mohill)

10. Jack Heslin (Gortletteragh)
11. Emlyn Mulligan (Melvin Gaels)
12. Ryan O’Rourke (Feenagh/St Caillin’s)

13. Darragh Rooney (Melvin Gaels)
14. Keith Beirne (Mohill)
15. Brendan Gallagher (Lucan Sarsfields, Dublin)


20. Dean McGovern (Ballinamore Sean O’Heslin’s) for Flynn (21)
24. Ronan Kennedy (Mohill) for Heslin (53)
23. Ciaran Gaffney (Drumreilly) for Rooney (56)
17. Noel Plunkett (Aughawillan) for Wrynn (71)
13. Darragh Rooney for Beirne (82)
21. Aiden Flynn for Rooney (83, black card)

New York

1. Vinny Cadden (Sligo)

2. Neil Collins (Kerry)
3. Donal Ward (Kerry)
18. Mike Creegan (Leitrim)

5. Enda Williams (Longford)
6. Tom Cunniffe (Westmeath)
7. Matthew Queenan (Mayo)

8. David Culhane (Kerry)
9. Shane Hogan (St Barnabas)

10. Tony Donnelly (Rockland)
11. Jamie Clarke (Longford)
12. Luke Kelly (Kerry)

13. Kevin O’Grady (Monaghan)
14. Dalton McDonagh (Longford)
15. David Freeman (Monaghan)


21. Daniel McKenna (Sligo) for Freeman (32)
17. John Collins (Manhattan Gaels) for Kelly (48)
23. Paddy Boyle (Donegal) for Queenan (53)
22. Aaron Cunningham (Longford) for Donnelly (56)
24. Keith Scally (Westmeath) for J Collins (61)
25. JJ Matthews (Longford) for Cunningham (69, black card)
12. Kelly for Culhane (82)
14. McDonagh for Hogan (88)

*New York club teams are listed above

Referee: D O’Mahoney (Tipperary).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

LIVE: New York v Leitrim, Connacht SFC quarter-final

Almost 5% of Leitrim has travelled to New York for tonight’s Connacht championship opener

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel