Bobby Duggan bagged 0-9 today for NUI Galway. Ryan Byrne/INPHO
Last Eight

0-9 from Clare's Duggan not enough for NUIG as defending Fitzgibbon champions UL survive

A one-point defeat for UL today but they still advance to the last eight.

NUI Galway 0-16
UL 0-15

Daragh Small reports from Rhebogue

NUIG SHARPSHOOTER BOBBY Duggan shot nine points to make UL sweat as the Galway men claimed a one-point win in their Fitzgibbon Cup Group C tie at Rhebogue in Limerick today.

But not even his exploits were enough to secure the three-point win NUIG required to reach the next phase.

Champions UL trailed 0-13 to 0-6 at half-time having played against the wind but they launched a comeback in the second-half to ensure they made it through to the quarter-finals.

Tipperary’s John McGrath also fired over 0-9 for UL, and Kevin O’Brien’s last gasp effort gave them some breathing room.

NUIG hit four of the first five points with Niall O’Brien, Duggan, Oisin Donnellan and Cathal Mannion on target.

David Fitzgerald landed UL’s first in the fourth minute, and when Tom Morrissey slotted in the 13th minute they only trailed by the minimum into a strong breeze.

But once Duggan slotted his second free of the day Tony Ward’s side took off. McGrath’s two frees were all UL could muster for the rest of the half. In the meantime Duggan made it seven for the day and NUIG led 0-13 to 0-6.

However, NUIG only added three points in the second-half, and as McGrath racked up the scores it was clear UL were on their way despite the loss, with the Galway college bowing out on an inferior scoring difference to Mary Immaculate.

Scorers for NUI Galway: Bobby Duggan 0-9 (0-8f); Niall O’Brien 0-2, Padraic Mannion 0-2; Cathal Mannion 0-1, Kevin McHugo 0-1, Oisin Donnellan 0-1.

Scorers for University of Limerick: John McGrath 0-9 (0-7f); Tom Morrissey 0-2; Jason Forde 0-1 (0-1f), Kevin Hehir 0-1, Kevin O’Brien 0-1, David Fitzgerald 0-1.

NUI Galway

1. Cathal Tuohy (Tommie Larkins – Galway)

2. Conor Ryan (Nenagh Éire Óg - Tipperary)
3. Barry Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge – Clare)
22. Robbie Lane (Ballinderreen – Galway)

5. Shane Cooney (St Thomas – Galway)
6. John Hanbury (Rahoon Newcastle – Galway)
7. Padraic Mannion (Ahascragh Fohenagh – Galway)

8. Niall O’Brien (Castletown – Westmeath)
9. Oisin Donnellan (Feakle – Clare)

10. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle – Clare)
11. Kevin McHugo (Tommie Larkins – Galway)
12. Mike Mullins (Gort – Galway)

13. John Fox (Ahane – Limerick)
14. Conor Whelan (Kinvara – Galway)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh Fohenagh - Galway)

32. Ger Hennelly (Ardrahan – Galway) for Fox (49 mins)
30. Stephen Hynes (Galway) for Lane (54).

University of Limerick

1. Paul Maher (Moyne Templetuohy – Tipperary)

2. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh – Limerick)
3. Jack Browne (Ballyea – Clare)
4. Stephen Roche (Kilnadeema Leitrim – Galway)

5. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley- Clare)
24. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg – Tipperary)
7. Brian Stapleton (Templderry Kenyons – Tipperary)

8. Kevin Hehir (Inagh Kilnamona – Clare)
23. David Fitzgerald (Inagh Kilnamona – Clare)

10. Jason Forde (Silvermines – Tipperary)
11. Tom Morrissey (Ahane – Limerick)
12. Conor Martin (Emeralds – Kilkenny)

13. John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney – Tipperary)
14. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell – Limerick)
18. Tommy Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg - Tipperary)

20. Pat Ryan (Doon – Limerick) for McGuane (38 mins)
15. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe – Clare) for Heffernan (42)
9. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash – Tipperary) for Hehir (51).

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork)

Limerick senior trio star as Mary Immaculate finish top of Fitzgibbon Cup group

Clare and Limerick seniors hit the net as LIT defeat UCC in Fitzgibbon Cup

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.