Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Tuesday 13 April 2021

Offaly boss Baker hands senior championship debut to 21 year-old Cleary

Dermot Mooney and Ciaran Slevin make their first starts for Offaly in championship.

Offaly manager Ollie Baker.
Offaly manager Ollie Baker.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

OFFALY BOSS OLLIE Baker has announced their team for Sunday’s Leinster SHC quarter-final tie against reigning All-Ireland champions Kilkenny.

21 year-old Sean Cleary from Shinrone will make his senior championship debut at left corner forward. He was part of the Offaly U21 side that defeated Laois on Wednesday night in the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster championship.

Midfielder Dermot Mooney from the Seir Kieran club will start a senior championship fixture for the first time. Last July he was introduced as a late substitute during Offaly’s 1-26 to 2-16 All-Ireland SHC qualifier loss against Cork.

Kilcormac/Killoughey’s Ciaran Slevin, who captained his club to county and provincial success in 2012, will also be starting a senior championship encounter for the first time.

His only other previous taste of inter-county championship fare was on May 27th 2007 when he was introduced as a sub during a Leinster Championship win over Laois.

From the Offaly side that exited the championship against Cork last year in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, there are eight survivors – David Kenny, Rory Hanniffy, Kevin Brady, Colin Egan, Conor Mahon, Shane Dooley, Joe Bergin and Brian Carroll.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

The newcomers to the fray are goalkeeper James Dempsey, corner-back Chris McDonald, centre-back Ger Healion, wing-back Cathal Parlon (who came on as a substitute during that game), midfielder Mooney, wing-forward Slevin and corner-forward Cleary.

OFFALY: James Dempsey (Kinnitty); Chris McDonald (Brosna Gaels),David Kenny (Belmont), Kevin Brady (Coolderry); Rory Hanniffy (Birr), Ger Healion (Kilcormac/Killoughey), Cathal Parlon (Coolderry); Conor Mahon (Kilcormac/Killoughey), Dermot Mooney (Seir Kieran); Colin Egan (Belmont), Brian Carroll (Coolderry), Ciaran Slevin (Kilcormac/Killoughey); Shane Dooley (Tullamore), Joe Bergin (Seir Kieran), Sean Cleary (Shinrone).

Ciaran Slevin in action for Kilcormac-Killoughey.
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Dublin make 3 changes for Leinster opener

7 counties to be in opening All-Ireland hurling qualifier draw on Monday

Wexford’s Lee Chin to play 2 games in 24 hours and travel 400km this weekend

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: