pointing the way

Attacking duo Horgan and Hayes land Cork GAA club awards

Patrick Horgan helped Glen Rovers triumph while John Hayes starred for Carbery Rangers.

pjimage (2) Glen Rovers forward Patrick Horgan and Carbery Rangers attacker John Hayes INPHO INPHO

CORK SENIOR HURLER Patrick Horgan and former Cork footballer John Hayes landed GAA club awards last night after helping their respective clubs to win county senior titles this year.

Horgan, part of the Glen Rovers team that lost out recently in the Munster senior club hurling final, helped his club retain their Cork senior title in October.

He shot 0-12 in that final success with that superb display ensuring he secured the ‘Hurler of the Year’ award at the Reardens Club Allstar awards, which took place last night in Cork.

Patrick Horgan Glen Rovers saw off Erins Own in the county senior hurling final Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

John Hayes, who retired from the inter-county game last winter, was integral to his club Carbery Rangers achievement in claiming a historic first Cork senior football crown. He struck 0-5 in the final victory over Ballincollig and won the Footballer of the Year award.

Roisin O’Sullivan won the Ladies Footballer of the Year award as her club Mourneabbey again triumphed while Joanne Casey was handed the Camogie Player of the Year award after her club Inniscarra stunned reigning All-Ireland champions Milford.

John Hayes, Roisin O'Callaghan, Patrick Horgan and John Casey (representing his daughter Joanne) at last night's awards. Eddie O'Hare Eddie O'Hare

The hurling and football All-Star teams were also named with Glen Rovers (7) and Carbery Rangers (8) leading the way on the respective sides.


1. Shay Bowen (Erin’s Own)

2. Jack Sheehan (Erin’s Own)
3. Brian Moylan (Glen Rovers)
4. Shane Murphy (Erin’s Own)

5. David Noonan (Glen Rovers)
6. Aidan Ryan (Midleton)
7. Graham Callanan (Glen Rovers)

8. Donal Cronin (Glen Rovers)
9. Brian Murray (Bishopstown)

10. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)
11. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
12. Robbie O’Flynn (Erin’s Own)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Eoghan Murphy (Erin’s Own)
15. Conor Dorris (Glen Rovers)



1. Paul Shanahan (Carbery Rangers)

2. Liam Jennings (Ballincollig)
3. Brian Shanahan (Carbery Rangers)
4. Thomas O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

5. Tomás Clancy (Avondhu)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
7. Jerry O’Riordan (Carbery Rangers)

8. Seán Kiely (Ballincollig)
9. James Fitzpatrick (Carbery Rangers)

10. John Miskella (Ballincollig)
11. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
12. John O’Rouke (Carbery Rangers)

13. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
14. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
15. Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig)

Eddie O'Hare Eddie O'Hare

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Coping as an All-Ireland sub, club football role, playing with Kilkenny greats

‘It is absolutely crazy’ – Tyrrell can’t understand Loughnane criticism of Cody