Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 5°C Monday 8 March 2021

Provinces announce starting XVs

Magners League team news meltdown!

ULSTER, LEINSTER AND Munster have named their starting lineups for Friday night’s opening series of Magners League matches.

Ulster start Adam D’Arcy, a recent convert from Rugby League.  D’Arcy, recruited from the Manly Sea Eagles in Australia, will play at full-back for the northerners. Rory Best and Stephen Ferris both start, alongside new Springbok recruits Johann Muller and Pedrie Wannenburg.

Andrew Trimble and Simon Danielli are absent through injury, so youngsters Tommy Seymour and David McIlwaine start instead. Ruan Pienaar is yet to arrive, so Paul Marshall will play scrum-half. Tom Court and Paddy Wallace both make the bench.

Leinster welcome back Jamie Heaslip from injury and start Sean O’Brien as captain after Shane Jennings was ruled out. Heinke Van Der Merwe makes his debut at prop in a front row also including Richardt Strauss and Simon Shawe.

Johnny Sexton and Eoin Reddan are both out, so Isa Nacewa and Isaac Boss play in the half-back roles.

Munster start two new signings, Sam Tuitupou and Johne Murphy, in midfield.  Another new signing- Felix Jones- starts at full-back.

Paul Warwick partners Peter Stringer at half-back, and Denis Leamy captains the side from number eight. Donnacha Ryan returns to the back-row after his injury.

ULSTER (v The Ospreys): A D’Arcy; T Seymour, D Cave, I Whitten, D McIlwaine; N O’Connor, P Marshall; B Young, R Best (Capt), D Fitzpatrick, J Muller, T Barker, S Ferris, W Faloon, P Wannenburg
Replacements: N Brady, T Court, P McAllister, R Caldwell, R Diack, I Porter, P Wallace, J Shiels
LEINSTER (v Glasgow): Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan, Eoin O’Malley, Fergus McFadden, Niall Morris, Isa Nacewa, Isaac Boss, Heinke Van Der Merwe, Richardt Strauss, Simon Shawe, Nathan Hines, Ed O’Donoghue, Dominic Ryan, Sean O’Brien (Capt), Jamie Heaslip

Replacements: John Fogarty, Jack McGrath, Ben Prescott, Mariano Galarza, Stephen Keogh, Paul O’Donohoe, Ian Madigan, Eamonn Sheridan

MUNSTER (v Aironi): F Jones; D Howlett, J Murphy, S Tuitupou, I Dowling; P Warwick, P Stringer; W du Preez, D Varley, T Buckley, M O’Driscoll, B Holland; D Ryan, N Ronan, D Leamy (capt).

Replacements: D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, A Quinlan, P O’Mahony, D Williams, S Deasy, D Barnes

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Read next: