Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Oisin Keniry/INPHO Rossies: ready for another day out in Croke Park (file photo).
# Rossies
Roscommon book their place in All-Ireland U17 final with five-point win over Kerry
The Rossies will face Tyrone in Croke Park on 27 August.

Roscommon 2-15

Kerry 1-13

Jason O’Connor reports from Cusack Park, Ennis

ROSCOMMON PUT AN end to Kerry’s hopes of an All-Ireland U17 and minor double with a deserved five-point win over the Kingdom in Ennis this afternoon.

Paul Carey and Peter Gillooly led the way for the Rossies combining for 2-11 in total and they used their great physique and tenacity to great effect in disrupting Kerry’s hopes of going in front on the scoreboard.

Michael Kelliher had scored a fine individual goal for Kerry in the eighth minute for their first score, levelling the game at 1-0 to 0-3, but Carey converted a penalty in the 13th minute to put Roscommon back in control.

Some good Kerry defending prevented him scoring a second as Roscommon went in leading by 1-6 to 1-5 at half-time.

Roscommon goalkeeper Michael O’Donnell was alert to a chance for Kerry’s Micheal Devlin in the 47th minute that could have swung the game in the Munster side’s way despite Franz Sauerland levelling the game at 1-11 apiece.

Carey put Roscommon back in front again however and the decisive score came in the first minute of injury time from Gillooly as he was alert to a break and scored Roscommon’s second goal.

Kerry’s minor contingent will have to pick themselves up for their All-Ireland semi-final with Cavan next Sunday while Roscommon can look forward to an All-Ireland final with Tyrone on 27 August in Croke Park.

Scorers for Roscommon: Paul Carey (1-6), Peter Gillooly (1-5, 2f), Ciaran Lawless (0-2), Ciaran Sugrue, Andrew Lyons (0-1 each).

Scorers for Kerry: Donal O’Sullivan (0-7, 6f), Michael Kelliher (1-0), Eddie Horan (0-2, 1f), Luka Brosnan, Michael Devlin, Daire Cleary, Franz Sauerland (0-1 each).


1. Michael O’Donnell (St Faithleachs)

2. Dylan Horan (Roscommon Gaels)
3. Jack Keane (Castlerea/St Kevins)
4. Pearse Frost (St Brigids)

5. Ciaran Lawless (Oran)
6. Oisin Lennon (Clann Na Gael)
7. John Martin (Oran)

8. James Larkin (Castlerea/St Kevins)
9. Shane Cunnane (St Brigids)

10. Tomas McManus (St Ronans)
11. Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses)
12. Andrew Lyons (Castlerea/St Kevins)

13. Peter Gillooly (Roscommon Gaels)
14. Ciaran Sugrue (St Brigids)
15. Niall Higgins (Elphin)


17. Darragh Murray (St Brigids) for McManus (H/T)
18. Paul McGrath (St Brigids) for Sugrue (41)
20. Ryan Donoghue (Monivea Abbey/Abbeyknockmoy) for Larkin (56)
21. Cathal Crehan (Fuerty) for Lyons (60 +4)


1. Deividas Uosis (Dingle)

2. Gearoid Lyne (Annascaul)
3. Dylan Casey (Austin Stacks)
4. Fergal Barry (Na Gaeil)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

5. Luka Brosnan (Castleisland Desmonds)
6. Eddie Horan (Scartaglin)
7. Thomas Devane (Dingle)

8. Sean O’Connell (Cordal)
9. Franz Sauerland (An Gaeltacht)

10. Donagh McMahon (Austin Stacks)
11. Michael Kelliher (John Mitchels)
12. Sean Doherty (Glenflesk)

13. Barry Keane (Listry)
14. Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)
15. Michael Devlin (Killarney Legion)


19. Daire Cleary (Laune Rangers) for McMahon (11)
18. Sean Keane (Listowel Emmets) for Doherty (H/T)
22. Shay Walsh (Scartaglin) for Barry Keane (44)
17. Darren Looney (Killarney Legion) for Devane (54)
21. Muiris Fitzgerald (St Marys) for O’Connell (60 +3)
16. Brian Lonergan (Ballymacelligott) for Uosis (60 +4)

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Here’s the Dublin side for tomorrow’s All-Ireland minor hurling semi

Your Voice
Readers Comments