This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Wednesday 26 February, 2020

Roscommon reach fifth U21 Connacht football final in a row

There was nearly late drama in Sligo but the 2012 champions held on.

Conor Daly's goal proved key for the Rossies today.
Conor Daly's goal proved key for the Rossies today.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Roscommon 1-12

Sligo 1-10

AFTER A COMFORTABLE 11-point win in their Connacht U21 football championship quarter-final with Mayo, Roscommon were made to work a lot harder by Sligo in Markievicz park this evening as they looked to reach five provincial finals in a row.

While a Conor Daly goal ten minutes from time looked to have given the Rossies an unassailable lead, Sligo fought back tremendously to close out the game on a 1-3 to 0-1 run. However it was too little, too late.

Nigel Dineen’s men made the brighter start with Shane Killoran (2) and Enda Smith helping them into an early 0-3 to 0-1 lead. Sligo fought back however and thanks to Niall Murphy found themselves two points in front approaching half-time.

Two quick points from Diarmuid Murtagh levelled things once again though before Ciaran Kilcline sent Roscommon into the half-time break with the narrowest of leads, 0-6 to 0-5.

The Rossies had much the better of the early stages of the second half and were cruising even before Daly found the net.

However, while Cian Breheny’s goal gave them a worrying final few minutes but they still had enough in hand to ensure they will play Leitrim for their third Connacht U21 football title in five years.

Leitrim dump All-Ireland champions Galway from Connacht U21 football championship

Roscrea and Ballycastle to meet in Paddy Buggy Cup final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: