Dublin: 26°C Thursday 11 August 2022

7 senior players in Cork side while Waterford field All-Ireland winners for Munster U21 semi-final

The sides meet in Páirc Uí Rinn tomorrow night.

Waterford's Peter Hogan and Cork's Mark Coleman will be in opposition tomorrow night.
Waterford's Peter Hogan and Cork's Mark Coleman will be in opposition tomorrow night.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Updated Jun 19th 2018, 3:15 PM

CORK HAVE CALLED on six players who togged out in the senior hurling championship win over Waterford on Sunday for what they hope will be a repeat result in tomorrow’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21HC semi-final.

Mark Coleman, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Jack O’Connor and U21 captain Shane Kingston all played a part in the 1-23 to 1-20  senior win over the Deise, while David Griffin and Tim O’Mahony were unused subs in Thurles.

Wing-forward Robbie O’Flynn started in Cork’s opening round win over Clare, brings the number of senior representatives up to seven in Denis Ring’s U21 outfit.

Kingston will lead his side from wing forward in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, with Coleman moving in to centre half back and vice-captain Darragh Fitzgibbon starting in midfield for his county for the second time in four days.

Waterford can call on two players who started in the 2016 All-Ireland U21 final victory. Centre-back Jordan Henley, who played in goal in that win over Galway two years ago, and full-forward Darragh Lyons, who started corner-back, are the two survivors.

Centre-forward Peter Hogan came on as a substitute in that victory in Semple Stadium.


1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
3. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
4. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)

5. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
6. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
7. Billy Hennessy (St Finbarr’s)

8. Chris O Leary (Valley Rovers)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
11. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neill’s)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas – captain)

13. Liam Healy (Sarsfields)
14. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
15. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)


16. Shane Hurley (St Finbarr’s)
17. Seadnaidh Smyth (Midleton)
18. John Cashman (Blackrock)
19. Eoin Roche (Bride Rovers)
20. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh)
21. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
22. Micheal O’Halloran (Blackrock)
23. Aaron Myers (Sarsfields)
24. Stephen Condon (Harbour Rovers)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. John Curran (Dungarvan)
3. Mikey Daykin (Mount Sion)
4. Darragh Lynch (Passage)

5. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)
6. Jordan Henley (Tallow)
7. Garry Cullinane (Passage)

8. Andrew Casey (Ballyduff Upper)
9. Mikey Mahony (Ballygunner)

10. Eddie Meaney (De La Salle)
11. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)
12. John Kennedy (Mount Sion)

13. John Paul Lucey (Shamrocks)
14. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
15. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside)

Sky apologise as viewers in Northern Ireland unable to view The Sunday Game

Galway avoid another big day implosion but question marks remain over their All-Ireland credentials

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel