Last Four

Second-half goals key as DCU overcome MTU Cork to book Sigerson semi-final spot

Dublin’s Lorcan O’Dell was amongst the goalscorers.

DCU 2-12

MTU Cork 0-9

Daire Walsh reports from DCU Sportsground

OFFALY’S JACK BRYANT and Dublin’s Lorcan O’Dell struck second half goals this evening as DCU advanced to the last-four of the Sigerson Cup with a comfortable victory at home to MTU Cork.

conor-corbett Conor Corbett in action for DCU against MTU Cork. Ben Brady / INPHO Ben Brady / INPHO / INPHO

Despite the absence of Galway attacker Robert Finnerty through injury, Paddy Christie’s Dublin-based outfit were always a step ahead of their Leeside counterparts.

While MTU edged in front early on with a point from Ryan O’Donovan, Shane Walsh got DCU up and running in advance of his Meath colleague Matthew Costello knocking over three frees in consummate fashion.

matthew-costello DCU's Matthew Costello. Ben Brady / INPHO Ben Brady / INPHO / INPHO

Although David Buckley kicked a fine point for MTU during this juncture, Costello and Alex Beirne also split the uprights as DCU started to move through the gears. O’Donovan and Costello proceeded to trade scores, before unanswered efforts from Buckley and O’Donovan left MTU just two points adrift (0-7 to 0-5) at the interval.

Yet DCU remained in control of their own destiny and Bryant smashed the back of the net two minutes after the resumption to create considerable daylight between the teams.

The aforementioned O’Dell was held in reserve after missing out on Dublin’s  Division Two opener against Kildare at Croke Park last weekend. However, the Templeogue Synge Street forward was introduced off the bench and his stunning finish with eight minutes remaining put the seal on an accomplished DCU win.

joe-cooper-under-pressure-from-jack-bryan-eoghan-smith-and-shane-walsh MTU Cork player Joe Cooper under pressure from DCU. Ben Brady / INPHO Ben Brady / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for DCU: Matthew Costello 0-6 (0-5f), Jack Bryant, Lorcan O’Dell 1-0 each, Shane Walsh 0-3 (0-2f), Alex Beirne, PJ Masterson, Kevin Quinn 0-1 each.

Scorers for MTU Cork: David Buckley 0-4 (0-2f), Ryan O’Donovan 0-3 (0-2f), Aaron O’Shea, David O’Connor 0-1 each.


1. David O’Hanlon (Na Fianna, Dublin)

2. Tomas Crean (Cregg’s, Roscommon), 19. Paudie Hughes (Kilanerin, Wexford); 4. Jamie Grant (Termon, Donegal)

12. Alex Beirne (Naas, Kildare), 7. PJ Masterson (Abbeylara, Longford), 22. Mark Cully (Carbury, Kildare)

8. Bill Carroll (Cappincur, Offaly), 10. Matthew Costello (Dunshaughlin Gaels, Meath)

6. Keelin McGann (Kenagh, Longford), 11. Shane Walsh (Na Fianna, Meath), 24. Shane O’Donnell (St Eunan’s, Donegal)

23. Jack Bryant (Shamrocks, Offaly), 14. Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers, Cork), 21. Sean Jones (Iniskeen Gratten’s, Monaghan)


  • 30. Eoghan Smith (Drumcliffe Rossespoint, Sligo) for Jones (11)
  • 20. Kevin Quinn (Blessington, Wicklow) for Costello (35)
  • 13. Lorcan O’Dell (Templeogue Synge Street, Dublin) for McGann (41)
  • 3. Sean Fitzgerald (Barna, Galway) for Cully (54)
  • 17. Ross O Mearlaigh (Gleann Fhinne, Donegal) for Walsh (57)

MTU Cork

1. Kieran Twomey (Kilshannig, Cork)

2. Sean Andrews (Shamrocks, Cork), 3. Sean Meehan (Kiskeam, Cork), 4. Tommy Walsh (Kanturk, Cork)

20. Joe Cooper (Éire Óg, Cork), 6. Paul Ring (Aghabullogue, Cork), 7. Rory Maguire (Castlehhaven, Cork)

28. Colm O’Shea (Kilshannig, Cork), 9. Liam Smith (Glenbeigh/Glencar, Kerry)

10. Aaron O’Shea (Listry, Kerry), 11. Jack Cahalane (Castlehaven, Cork), 19. David Buckley (Newcestown, Cork)

13. Alan Walsh (Kanturk, Cork), 14. Eanna O’Hanlon (Kilshannig, Cork), 15. Ryan O’Donovan (Barryroe, Cork)


  • 22. Sean Dore (Ballincollig, Cork) for O’Hanlon (45)
  • 23. Keith O’Driscoll (Gabriel Rangers, Cork) for Cooper (50)
  • 18. David O’Connor (Boherbue, Cork) for O’Shea (54)
  • 21. Jerome Kelleher (Eire Og, Cork) for Meehan (57)

Get instant updates on the Allianz Football and Hurling Leagues on The42 app. Brought to you by Allianz Insurance, proud sponsors of the Allianz Leagues for over 30 years.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel