College Clashes

Here are the draws for the 2017 Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup competitions

Reigning champions UCD and Mary Immaculate discovered their fate.

The UCD team celebrate winning the Sigerson Cup The UCD team celebrate their Sigerson Cup triumph. Presseye / Declan Roughan/INPHO Presseye / Declan Roughan/INPHO / Declan Roughan/INPHO

SOME OF THE leading GAA players in the country discovered their early season assignments in 2017 when the draws for next year’s Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup took place.

Footballers like Dublin’s Jack McCaffrey (UCD), Donegal’s Ryan McHugh (UUJ) and Galway’s Damien Comer (NUI Galway) will be involved in the Sigerson this year while hurlers involved include Dublin’s Cian O’Callaghan (UCD) and Limerick’s Richie English (Mary Immaculate).

Reigning Sigerson Cup champions UCD were drawn to face IT Sligo or GMIT at the last sixteen stage. Last year’s beaten finalists DCU will take on Queen’s University.

Mary Immaculate's team celebrate with the Fitzgibbon Cup The Mary Immaculate College team celebrate their Fitzgibbon Cup win Ken Sutton / INPHO Ken Sutton / INPHO / INPHO

In the Fitzgibbon Cup, reigning champions Mary Immaculate will be in a group with IT Carlow, Dublin IT and GMIT.

Here’s the draws in full.

Sigerson Cup

(First team named at home)

Preliminary Round – 25/26 January

NUI Galway v Trinity College
Garda College v Cork IT
GMIT v IT Sligo

Round Two – 25/26/31 January

A. UL v Maynooth University
B. Athlone IT v Dublin IT
C. Garda College/Cork IT v UUJ
D. GMIT/IT Sligo v UCD
E. Queen’s University v DCU
F. NUIG/Trinity College v St Mary’s
G. IT Carlow v IT Tralee
H. St Pat’s Drumcondra v UCC

Quarter-Finals – 8 February
Semi-Finals – 17 February – Connacht GAA Centre, Bekan
Final – 18 February – Connacht GAA Centre, Bekan Higher Education GAA Senior Championships Launch & Draw Ryan McHugh will be part of the UUJ setup this year Seb Daly / SPORTSFILE Seb Daly / SPORTSFILE / SPORTSFILE

Fitzgibbon Cup

Group A: IT Carlow, Mary I, GMIT, DIT
Group B: UL, NUIG, DCU St Patrick’s, CIT
Group C: DCU, LIT, Trinity, WIT
Group D: UCD, UCC, University Ulster, Maynooth University

Round 1 – Tuesday 24 January
Round 2 – Thursday 2 February
Round 3 – Tuesday 7 January

Quarter-Finals – 14 February
Semi-Finals – 24 February – NUI Galway
Final – 25 February – NUI Galway

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘It is absolutely crazy’ – Tyrrell can’t understand Loughnane criticism of Cody

Coping as an All-Ireland sub, club football role, playing with Kilkenny greats

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.