This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Monday 10 December, 2018

Sinéad Aherne's 2-7 inspires Dublin to their fourth All-Ireland final in-a-row

Runners up the last three years, Mick Bohan’s side will be hoping it’s a case of fourth time lucky.

Scoring star: Sinéad Aherne.
Scoring star: Sinéad Aherne.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Dublin 5-10

Kerry 0-11

By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium, Thurles

CAPTAIN SINÉAD AHERNE led the way with 2-7 as Dublin booked their place in a fourth successive TG4 All-Ireland ladies senior football final.

The Sky Blues will meet Cork or Mayo on September 24 at Croke Park after seeing off Kerry by 14 points at Semple Stadium in Saturday evening’s semi-final.

Aherne collected 1-9 in the quarter-final victory over Waterford and she was on form again as Mick Bohan’s Leinster champions advanced.

There was a brace of second half goals for Noelle Healy, while Nicole Owens also raised a green flag for the winners.

Aherne had 2-5 on the board by half-time as Dublin led by 2-6 to 0-4.

She opened the scoring with a third minute point and while Dublin had to wait until midway through the first half for their opening goal, they were regularly punching holes through the Kerry defence.

Lyndsey Davey had the ball in the Kingdom’s net in the fifth minute but referee Stephen McNulty whistled back for an earlier infringement.

Two Aherne frees had Dublin 0-3 to 0-0 clear before Kerry finally opened their account in the seventh minute, 16-year-old Hannah O’Donoghue slotting over a point.

But Kerry would have six wides registered by half-time, in contrast to a more economical Dublin outfit, who were off target just once.

Dublin’s opening goal, in the 16th minute, was clinically finished at the Killinan End by Aherne, who played a one-two with Niamh McEvoy before slotting home.

And as Dublin cruised through the first half, they had their second goal four minutes before the interval, Aherne converting a penalty after McEvoy was fouled on her way through.

Kerry were struggling badly for attacking inspiration, against a ravenous Dublin defence led brilliantly by Sinéad Finnegan, and as their forwards were forced into long-range efforts, too many failed to find the range.

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh did offer stout resistance – collecting 0-8 for Kerry – but Dublin were simply too good and will hope to end a run of Croke Park heartbreak next month.

Dublin have lost the last three All-Ireland finals to Cork – and Bohan was in charge back in 2003, when the Jackies were felled by Mayo.

But there’s a growing belief in the Dublin camp that this could be the year they finally land a second senior title – and first since 2010.

Mick Bohan Dublin manager Mick Bohan. Source: Tom Beary/INPHO

There’s a clinical edge to a well-drilled outfit and they led this semi-final from start to finish.

They built on that half-time advantage with three further goals in the second half – and two of those were unanswered strikes after the restart.

Owens steamed past Aisling Leonard on the New Stand touchline before coolly slotting past Laura Fitzgerald less than a minute after half-time.

And that was followed by Healy’s first goal five minutes later – as Dublin clicked through the gears.

Kerry had to wait 13 minutes of the second half for a point but scores were few and far between for Graham Shine’s charges, despite a big shift from Ní Mhuircheartaigh.

Dublin kept the scoreboard ticking over and Healy’s second goal – superbly finished at the Town End of Semple Stadium – was the icing on the cake in the 59th minute.

Scorers for Dublin: S Aherne 2-7 (1-0 pen, 0-4f), N Healy 2-0, N Owens 1-1, S Goldrick & C Rowe 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kerry: L Ní Mhuircheartaigh 0-8 (4f), H O’Donoghue, L Rogers & F Tangney (f) 0-1 each.


1. Ciara Trant (St. Brigid’s)

2. Martha Byrne (Cuala)
3. Sinéad Finnegan (Fingallians)
4. Rachel Ruddy (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

5. Sinéad Goldrick (Foxrock Cabinteely)
6. Niamh Collins (Foxrock Cabinteely)
7. Leah Caffrey (Na Fianna)

8. Lauren Magee (Kilmacud Crokes)
9. Olwen Carey (Thomas Davis)

10. Carla Rowe (Clann Mhuire)
11. Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)
12. Nicole Owens (St Slylvester’s)

13. Sinéad Ahearne (St Sylvester’s) – captain
14. Niamh McEvoy (St Sylvester’s)
14. Noelle Healy (St Brigid’s)

Subs – D Murphy for Caffrey (40), H O’Neill for Rowe (41), K McKenna for McEvoy (50), S McCaffrey for Davey (50), F Hudson for Byrne (53).


1. Laura Fitzgerald (Na Gaeil)

2. Elish Lynch (Castleisland Desmonds)
3. Aislinn Desmond (Rathmore)
4. Aisling Leonard (Castleisland Desmonds)

5. Caroline Kelly (Southern Gaels) – captain
6. Ciara Murphy (Foxrock Cabinteely)
7. Sarah Murphy (Rathmore)

8. Lorraine Scanlon (Castleisland Desmonds)
9. Emma Sherwood (St Brigid’s)

10. Amanda Brosnan (Dr Crokes)
11. Anna Galvin (Southern Gaels)
12. Denise Hallissey (Inbhear Scéine Gaels)

13. Sarah Houlihan (Beaufort)
14. Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Corca Dhuibhne)
14. Hannah O’Donoghue (Beaufort)

Subs: L Rogers for O’Donoghue (34), A O’Connell for S Murphy (39), F Tangney for Hallissey (43), T Breen for Brosnan (55).

Referee: S McNulty (Sligo).

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

As It Happened: Dublin v Kerry, All-Ireland ladies senior football semi-final

Tipp see 13-point lead disintegrate but manage to cling on and book All-Ireland final place

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel