Thursday 26 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Mikhail Kireev/INPHO Dundalk manager Stephen Kenny.
# Awards Season
8 Dundalk players included in Soccer Republic Team of the Year
Sean Maguire is Cork City’s sole representative on the line-up.

SOCCER REPUBLIC SELECTED eight Dundalk players on its Team of the Year in the final show of the season on RTÉ last night.

Stephen Kenny’s side made it three league titles in a row this season but they were denied a repeat of last year’s double by Cork City in the FAI Cup final on Sunday.

After lengthy debate the show’s analysts eventually rewarded Dundalk with eight spots on their starting XI.

Sean Maguire, the SSE Airtricity Premier Division’s top scorer, is the sole Cork City player to make the Team of the Year while Derry City have two representatives in goalkeeper Ger Doherty and midfielder Aaron McEneff.

The back four is made up entirely of Dundalk players — Sean Gannon, Brian Gartland, Andy Boyle and Dane Massey — while Ronan Finn, Stephen O’Donnell and Daryl Horgan are included in midfield.

David McMillan completes the Lilywhites’ presence on the team, as he is paired with Maguire up front.

Dundalk’s Robbie Benson won the Goal of the Year award for his stunning strike away to Legia Warsaw in the Europa League.

Football Universe_11_of_11 / YouTube

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Soccer Republic Team of the Year:

Ger Doherty (Derry City); Sean Gannon (Dundalk), Brian Gartland (Dundalk), Andy Boyle (Dundalk), Dane Massey (Dundalk); Ronan Finn (Dundalk), Stephen O’Donnell (Dundalk), Aaron McEneff (Derry City), Daryl Horgan (Dundalk); David McMillan (Dundalk), Sean Maguire (Cork City).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Southgate backs Man United duo after Mourinho rebuke

‘Don’t sell Maguire’ – Cork’s FAI Cup winners given heroes’ welcome home