James Crombie/INPHO
The Reds

Stradbally edge past The Nire to claim 19th Conway Cup following extra-time

The Reds prevailed following a tense period of extra-time at Fraher Field.

Updated at 20.14

Stradbally 1-15

The Nire 1-14 (AET)

Tomás McCarthy reports from Fraher Field

A NEVER SAY die Stradbally lifted the Conway Cup for the nineteenth time after a classic eighty-minute tussle with The Nire at Fraher Field this afternoon.

The Reds rallied from six points down after 13 minutes and only hit the front in the first period of extra-time through Jack Mullaney. Robert Aherne then slotted a pressure free to put them two to the good.

The Nire, playing their fifth match in 21 days, kicked seven wides in extra-time. In a dramatic finale, goalkeeper Diarmuid Murphy tugged an 84th minute free to the right of the posts.

Magnificent midfielder Shane Aherne was named man of the match while All Star Michael Walsh won his tenth county title. Young forwards Eoin O’Brien and Daniel Weldon also delivered at big moments. The classy Conor Gleeson totalled eight points for The Nire with three from play.

Gleeson tormented the Reds back line during the early exchanges. Three points from the Déise hurler eased them 0-4 to 0-0 up and after thirteen minutes, Craig Guiry fed Tom Barron on the burst.

The younger brother of Jamie hared through the centre and burst the Stradbally net to make it 1-4 to 0-1.

Two minutes later, Daniel Weldon sent Ger Crowley clean through and he finished past Murphy. A Shane Aherne brace levelled matters for the first time at 1-5 apiece. The Nire registered the last three points of the half via Shane Walsh and Gleeson to retire 1-8 to 1-5 ahead.

A Dermot Ryan single stretched that gap to four with thirteen minutes remaining but a fresher Stradbally rallied through Eoin O’Brien and Aherne.

Shane Walsh kept the defending champions in the driving seat with his third point to make it 1-13 to 1-11 in the dying stages. A right footed effort from Brick Walsh narrowed to one before Weldon finished a patient move.

Aherne and Walsh spurned opportunities to nick it in normal time however John Grey’s men got over the line in the additional twenty minutes to record their 19th Conway Cup title.

Scorers for Stradbally: Eoin O’Brien 0-4 (1f), Ger Crowley 1-0, Shane Aherne 0-3, Robert Aherne (1f), Daniel Weldon 0-2 each, Jack Mullaney, Michael Walsh, Tommy Connors, Michael Sweeney 0-1 each.

Scorers for The Nire: Conor Gleeson 0-8 (5fs), Tom Barron 1-1, Shane Walsh 0-3, Diarmuid Murphy (f), Dermot Ryan 0-1 each.


1. Eoin Cunningham

2. Ciaran Cusack
3. Kevin Lawlor
4. Jack Mullaney

5. Tony Grey
6. Shane Lannon
7. Luke Casey

8. Michael Walsh
9. Shane Aherne

12. Daniel Weldon
15. Eoin O’Brien
17. Nicky Connors

13. Michael Sweeney
14. Robert Aherne
10. Ger Crowley


11. Tommy Connors for Nicky Connors (H-T)
19. Andy Doyle for Casey (47 B-C)
20. Ger Power for Crowley (49)
21. Stephen Keane for Sweeney (56)
22. Cathal Cusack for Weldon (68)
10. Ger Crowley for O’Brien (70)
24. Kevin Coffey for Mullaney (81)

The Nire

1. Diarmuid Murphy

2. Justin Walsh
3. Thomas O’Gorman
20. Michael Moore

7. Darren Guiry
6. Shane Ryan
5. Dermot Ryan

18. James McGrath
9. Tholom Guiry

12. Seamus Lawlor
14. Conor Gleeson
10. Dylan Guiry

13. Tom Barron
8. Craig Guiry
15. Shane Walsh


4. Jake Mulcahy for Lawlor (44)
11. Michael O’Gorman for McGrath (48)
19. Shane O’Meara for Tholom Guiry (55)
22. Stephen Ryan for Craig Guiry (62)
18. James McGrath for Stephen Ryan (E-T)
12. Seamus Lawlor for Michael O’Gorman (76)
26. Kenny Brazil for Barron (80)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Mayo stars shine as Carnacon crowned All-Ireland senior champions for the sixth time

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel