Dublin: 18°C Friday 24 September 2021

Two Kerry changes for Munster semi-final against Tipp, McShane on Tyrone bench as McKenna absent

The Red Hand face reigning Ulster champions Cavan in the quarter-final.

KERRY BOSS PETER Keane has made two changes to his side to face Tipperary in tomorrow’s Munster SFC semi-final against Tipperary.

peter-keane-with-david-clifford Peter Keane with David Clifford. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Semple Stadium, Thurles, hosts the last-four battle, with throw-in set for 7pm [live on Sky Sports Arena].

Goalkeeper Shane Ryan returns to the number one jersey, with Kieran Fitzgibbon dropping to the bench, while Michéal Burns starts at full-forward and Dara Moynihan misses out.

David Clifford is in from the start after his injury scare against Clare, and captain for the evening, with Paul Murphy on the bench.

Reigning Munster champions Tipperary are yet to show their hand.

Tyrone, meanwhile, have made five changes for tomorrow’s Ulster SFC quarter-final clash with holders Cavan, with Cathal McShane named on the bench.

Joint-managers Feargal Logan and Brian Dooher bring Rory Brennan, Michael O’Neill, Richard Donnelly and Niall Sludden into the starting line-up, with Edendork midfielder Conn Kilpatrick set for his senior championship debut.

cathal-mcshane Tyrone forward Cathal McShane. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

Among the substitutions, McShane is in line for his first Tyrone appearance since February 2020 after a torrid time with injury, while Conor McKenna and Darragh Canavan — who sustained an ankle injuty last time out in the heavy league defeat to Kerry — are notable absentees.

The Breffni county are yet to publicly name their side for the Healy Park, Omagh meeting at 4.30pm [live on Sky Sports Arena].

Cork and Limerick have also unveiled their starting sides for their Munster semi-final showdown at LIT Gaelic Grounds tomorrow [throw-in 3pm], while Mayo named their side for their Connacht SFC semi-final against Leitrim earlier today.


1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht), 3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue), 4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Mike Breen (Beaufort), 6. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), 7. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys), 9. Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil)

10. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare Shamrocks), 11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks), 12. Paul Geaney (Dingle).

13. David Clifford (Fossa), 14. Michéal Burns (Dr Crokes) 15. Paudie Clifford (Fossa).


1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Michael McKernan (Coalisland), 3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran), 4. Padraig Hampsey (Coalisland)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. Rory Brennan (Trillick), 6. Michael O’Neill (Ardboe), 7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)

8. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick), 9. Conn Kilpatrick (Edendork)

10. Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy), 11. Richie Donnelly (Trillick), 12. Conor Meyler (Omagh),

13. Darren McCurry (Edendork), 14. Paul Donaghy (Dungannon), 15. Niall Sludden (Dromore).


1. Mícheál Martin (Nemo Rangers)

2. Sean Powter (Douglas), 3. Daniel O’ Mahony (Knocknagree), 4. Kevin Flahive (Douglas),

5. Kevin O’ Donovan (Nemo Rangers), 6. Sean Meehan (Kiskeam), 7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow),

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s), 9. Paul Walsh (Kanturk),

10. Brian Hartnett (Douglas), 11. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues), 12. John O’ Rourke (Carbery Rangers)

13. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers), 14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven), 15. Daniel Dineen (Cill na Martra).


Screenshot 2021-07-09 at 23.28.57

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel