Eoghan Tinney celebrates at the final whistle with Sean Black. Tommy Dickson/INPHO
curtain raiser

Rampant second half against Royals takes Galway to minor All-Ireland final

Goals from Tinney, McCormack and Gill helped the Tribe sweep Meath aside.

Galway 3-13

Meath  2-9

GOALS FROM EOGHAN Tinney, Oisín McCormack and Tony Gill in a blistering second- half display propelled Galway past Meath in today’s curtain-raiser at Croke Park.

The Tribesmen turned around four points in arrears, but a sensational second 30 minutes in which they outscored the Royals by 3-7 to 0-5 saw them through to a second All-Ireland minor final in three seasons.

Impressive wing-back Cathal Sweeney kicked three early points for the winners who had more than their share of possession but well-taken from Luke Mitchell and Luke Kelly handed Meath a more than decent 2-4 to 0-6 advantage at the break.

The Leinster champions appeared in pole position but would add just five further points, however, as Galway took over and Sweeney, Paul Kelly, Conor Raftery and Aidan Halloran all turned in standout performances.

Cathal Sweeney and Ryan Monahan with Bryan McCormack and Adam Reilly Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

Tinney struck Galway’s opening goal at the Hill 16 end in the 39th minute.

Mitchell hit back immediately for Meath but Galway would dominate the remainder and further McCormack and Gill goals by the 46th minute gave Galway a six-point lead they wouldn’t relinquish.

Their opponents in the September 2nd final will become known tomorrow after Kerry face off against Monaghan.

Galway players celebrate winning Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Galway: Aidan Halloran 0-4, Eoghan Tinney, Oisín McCormack and Tony Gill 1-0 each, Cathal Sweeney 0-3, Ryan Monaghan 0-2 (0-2f), Daniel Cox, Paul Kelly, Conor Raftery and Tomo Culhane 0-1 each.

Scorers for Meath: Luke Mitchell 1-4 (0-2f), Luke Kelly 1-0, David Bell 0-2 (0-2f), Bryan McCormack, Matthew Costello, Sean Coffey 0-1 each.


1. Donie Halleran (Cortoon Shamrocks)

2. Ethan Walsh (Cortoon Shamrocks)
3. Seán Black (Clifden)
4. Cian Deane (Moycullen)

5. Ryan Monaghan (Oughterard)
6. Tony Gill (Corofin)
7. Cathal Sweeney (Salthill-Knocknacarra)

8. Paul Kelly (Moycullen)
9. Conor Raftery (Glenamaddy & Northern Gaels, captain)

12. Oisín Gormley (Barna)
11. Aidan Halloran (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
10. Liam Judge (Caherlistrane)

13. Eoghan Tinney (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
14. Daniel Cox (Moycullen)
15. Matthew Cooley (Corofin)


19. Cian Hernon (Barna) for Judge (black card – 35)
21. Oisín McCormack (Ballinasloe) for Cox (half-time)
22. Éanna McCormack (An Cheathrú Rua) for Gormley (40)
23. Tomo Culhane (Clane, Kildare) for Cooley (52)
18. Conor Halbard (Corofin) for Tinney (56)


1. Seán Brennan (Dunderry)

2. James O’Hare (Rathkenny)
3. Harry O’Higgins (Round Towers)
4. Cathal Hickey (Seneschalstown)

5. Conor Farrelly (Walterstown)
6. Conor Harford (St Vincent’s)
7. Seán Coffey (Ballinabrackey)

8. Adam Reilly (Moynalty)
9. Cian McBride (St Ultan’s)

12. Bryan McCormack (Moynalty)
11. Matthew Costello (Dunshaughlin, captain)
10. Darragh Swaine (Clann na nGael)

13. David Bell (St Colmcille’s)
14. Luke Kelly (Na Fianna)
15. Luke Mitchell (Dunshaughlin)


18. Brian O’Hanlon (Navan O’Mahony’s) for Swaine (50)
23. Niall Bennett (Kilmainhamwood) for Reilly (50)
24. Oisín McCloskey (Na Fianna) for Farrelly (50)
19. Colin Hawdon (Oldcastle) for McCormack (40)
20. Joseph Moore (Seneschalstown) for Kelly (56)
22. Luke Newe (Ratoath) for McCloskey (black card – 56)

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan).

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel