Limerick's Cian Magnier Flynn and Tipperary's Cian Flanagan Ryan Byrne/INPHO
Premier Kingpins

Tipperary cruise to Munster minor hurling title with 17-point win over Limerick

Jake Morris hit 1-4 for the winners.

Tipperary 1-24
Limerick 0-10

Jackie Cahill at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

LIAM CAHILL’S TIPPERARY retained their Electric Ireland Munster minor hurling championship crown this afternoon with a comprehensive thumping of Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds.

The Premier County ran out massive 17-point winners against the Shannonsiders, who were reduced to 14 players in the second half when Brian Nash was dismissed for a second bookable offence.

Jake Morris was excellent in attack for Tipp as he collected 1-4 from play while Lyndon Fairbrother weighed in with 0-7, including four from play.

On a miserable afternoon for Limerick, Nash’s sending off came shortly after a 33rd minute goal for Morris, a superb low effort past Mark O’Kelly after Paddy Cadell had somehow managed to get his pass away under extreme pressure.

From there until the finish, it was a procession for Tipperary as they cruised to a 39th Munster minor hurling crown. The writing was on the wall for Limerick from a long way out as Tipp looked the more fluent outfit.

They’ve come a long way in a short space of time under Cahill and watching them in action this afternoon, it’s almost remarkable to think that Tipp lost their championship opener to Waterford.

But a do-or-die victory over Clare set Tipp up for a crack at Cork in the semi-final, a game they won at Páirc Uí Rinn, and their season opened up.

Today, they produced some brilliant hurling in difficult weather conditions to storm past Limerick, who admittedly had to play the vast majority of the second half a player light.

At half-time, Tipp led by 0-13 to 0-7, with Fairbrother, Morris and Mark Kehoe prominent. Limerick managed just six points from play on the day and that was never going to be good enough against a Tipp wide with scoring contributions from nine players.

The sending-off ended any faint hopes of a Limerick revival and they were even denied a consolation goal late on.

Sub Aaron Kennedy put the ball in the net but referee Rory McGann had already signalled for a 20m free, which was diverted out for a ’65.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jake Morris 1-4, Lyndon Fairbrother 0-7 (3f), Brian McGrath (2f) & Dylan Walsh 0-3 each, Ger Browne & Mark Kehoe 0-2 each, Rian Doody, Colin English & Shane Neville 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Paul O’Brien 0-3f, Kyle Hayes & Conor Boylan 0-2 each, Cian Magnier Flynn, John Flynn & Aaron Kennedy (f) 0-1 each.


1. Ciarán Barrett (Clonmel Óg)

4. Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
3. Michael Whelan (Carrick Davins)
2. Killian O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

21. Tom Murphy (J.K. Brackens)
6. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney – captain)
17. Cian Flanagan (Newport)

8. Paddy Cadell (J.K. Brackens)
9. Ger Browne (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams)

12. Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
7. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg)
10. Rian Doody (Cappawhite)

14. Colin English (Fr. Sheehy’s)
11. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
15. Lyndon Fairbrother (J.K. Brackens)


21. Dylan Walsh (Ballingarry) for English (27)
18. Shane Neville (Lattin Cullen) for Darcy (49)
24. Conor Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields) for Doody (temp, 53)}
5. Gavin Dunne (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Flanagan (59
19. Kieran Breen (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams) for Murphy (60).


1. Mark O’Kelly (Croom)

2. Brian Nash (South Liberties)
20. Ronan Connelly (Adare)
4. Brian Timmons (Murroe-Boher)

6. Josh Adams (Ballybrown)
7. Finn Hourigan (Murroe Boher)
5. Michael O’Grady (Knockainey)

9. Darragh Carroll (Newport)
21. John Flynn (Patrickswell)

8. Brian Ryan (South Liberties)
10. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry – captain)
13. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)

15. Paul O’Brien (Mungret St Pauls)
14. Cian Magnier Flynn (Killeedy)
3. Conor Nicholas (Monaleen)


19. Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh) for Timmons (19)
12. David Woulfe (Kilmallock) for Ryan (36)
22. Aaron Kennedy (Murroe Boher) for O’Brien (36)
11. Cal McCarthy (Kilmallock) for Adams (40)
17. Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock) for O’Grady (53).

Referee: Rory McGann (Clare)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Davy Fitzgerald – ‘If we’re playing Galway, they’ll be baying for blood after what Ger Loughnane said’

Great start to the day for Galway football as they dismiss Mayo to win Connacht minor title

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.