Dublin: 15°C Friday 19 August 2022
Advertisement

Townsend questions 'incredible call' that aided Japan's bonus-point win over Samoa

The Scotland boss believes the World Cup hosts were fortunate to get the opportunity to score a last-gasp try.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend.
Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend.

SCOTLAND HEAD COACH Gregor Townsend has questioned an “incredible call” from referee Jaco Peyper that resulted in Rugby World Cup Pool A rivals Japan securing a bonus-point win over Samoa.

Townsend’s men have two pool games remaining and sit nine points adrift of the tournament hosts, who they face on Sunday in what is likely to be a shoot-out for qualification.

Japan are top with a three-point cushion over Ireland after Kotaro Matsushima’s last-gasp score gave them a bonus point in the 38-19 win over Samoa on Saturday.

Townsend believes Japan, who are hoping to reach the last eight for the first time, were fortunate to be awarded a late penalty for a crooked Samoa put-in, which led to their fourth try.

“Look, I think it is an incredible call,” said Townsend. “I’ve never seen a crooked feed call in a World Cup or Six Nations. It’s not something that’s been refereed and there’s an agreement there is more latitude for the scrum-half putting the ball into the scrum because you are the team who has won the scrum.

“To see it in a World Cup really surprised me. To see it come in added-on time was an even bigger surprise. It was a call I’ve not seen for a long time in the game.”

See Sport
Differently

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

Wing Darcy Graham is the only player to retain his place in the Scotland team to face Russia in Shizuoka on Wednesday.

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:

COMMENTS (26)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel