This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Super sub Cavanagh proves key as Tyrone edge out 13-man Monaghan in Omagh

Sean Cavanagh came off the bench to kick vital points in Healy Park.

A four-point win for the home team in Healy Park tonight.
A four-point win for the home team in Healy Park tonight.
Image: Presseye/Matt Mackey/INPHO

Tyrone 0-14
Monaghan 0-10

Orla Bannon reports from Healy Park, Omagh

SEAN CAVANAGH WAS the difference with a dramatic intervention off the bench to rescue Tyrone against 13-man Monaghan at Healy Park in tonight’s Allianz Division 1 football league tie.

The Red Hands led by 0-9 to 0-2 at half time and when Fintan Kelly (two yellows) and Dermot Malone (straight red) were sent-off early in the second half, a home win looked a certainty.

But Monaghan recovered brilliantly from the setbacks, with Jack McCarron impressing up front, while a lack of ruthlessness again cost Tyrone.

They fell asleep as Monaghan reeled off five of the first six points after the break and closed to within 0-10 to 0-7 behind after 56 minutes.

Mickey Harte reacted by introducing his three-time All-Ireland winner, and not for the first time, Cavanagh’s leadership was the difference.

With his team rocking and in danger of blowing a big lead, Cavanagh took control hitting three vital points, two from frees.

Tyrone took complete control hitting the opening four points in a dominant spell and Peter Harte also struck a penalty wide in the 11th minute.

Monaghan didn’t score until the 25th minute through Jack McCarron, and after a quality long-range point from Tiernan McCann, McCarron tagged on a free to reduce the gap to 0-6 to 0-2.

Tyrone missed a few goal chances but added on three points before the break to go in 0-9 to 0-2 in front at the interval.

Malachy O’Rourke’s side came out pumped up yet within six minutes, they were down to 13 men with Fintan Kelly and Dermot Malone getting their marching orders.

Conor Meyler with Conor McManusm and Fintan Kelly

Monaghan needed a goal to get back into it and almost got one when Conor McManus and McCarthy teed up Dessie Ward but Tyrone ‘keeper Mickey O’Neill came out smartly to smother the shot.

McManus finally got off the scoresheet nailing the ’45′ and McCarron scored a brilliant sideline ball with Monaghan rallying well after the dismissals.

Monaghan gave it a great go but Cavanagh made the difference, taking responsibility to nail a 60th minute free with his team rocking.

McCurry smacked a shot off the crossbar which would have killed the game and Monaghan rallied again with Kieran Hughes, McManus and McCarron on target.

Cavanagh scored a trademark point from play and had the final say with a long-range free to settle it.

Dermot Malone Source: Presseye/Matt Mackey/INPHO

Scorers for Tyrone: Peter Harte 0-4 (0-2f), Sean Cavanagh 0-3 (0-2f), Darren McCurry, Tiernan McCann 0-2 each, Justin McMahon, Frank Burns, Conor Meyler 0-1 each.

Scorers for Monaghan: Jack McCarron 0-4 (0-2f), Conor McManus (0-1f), Rory Beggan (0-2f), Kieran Hughes 0-2 each.


Mickey O’Neill (Clones)

Pádraig Hampsey (Coalisland)
Ronan McNamee (Aghayaryan)
Cathal McCarron (Dromore)

Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
Justin McMahon (Omagh)
Frank Burns (Pomeroy)

Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
Declan McClure (Clonoe)

Conor Meyler (Omagh)
Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy)
Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)

Darren McCurry (Edendork)
Matthew Donnelly (Trillick)
Ronan O’Neill (Omagh)


Cathal McShane (Eoghan Roe O’Neills) for Burns (46)
Sean Cavanagh (Moy) for McClure (51)
Rory Brennan (Trillick) for McMahon (56)
Conal McCann (Killyclogher) for R O’Neill (58)
Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciaran) for McCarron (60)


Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

Fintan Kelly (Clones)
Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)

Kieran Duffy (Latton)
Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)
Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)

Owen Coyle (Latton)
Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)

Thomas Kerr (Ballybay)
Dermot Malone (Castleblayney)
Gavin Doogan (Magheracloone)

Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)
Jack McCarron (Currin)
Conor McManus (Clontibret)


Conor McCarthy (Scotstown) for Kerr (half-time)
Dessie Ward (Ballybay) for Duffy (half-time)
Stephen Gollogly (Carrickmacross) for Doogan (63)
James Mealiff (Clones) for McAnespie (63)

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Armagh)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Ruthless Dublin keep unbeaten league run going with 12-point win over Mayo

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Orla Bannon

Read next: