Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Sunday 9 May 2021

UL complete three-in-a-row of Ashbourne Cup titles as UCC's wait for final glory goes on

A three-point win for the reigning champions tonight in Mallow.

UL 0-15
UCC 1-9

Diarmuid Sheehan reports from Mallow

UL MADE IT three Ashbourne Cup titles in a row tonight seeing off UCC in a highly entertaining final played out in Mallow.

Sarah Fryday celebrates after the game with the trophy UL players celebrate their victory. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The Shannonsiders were pushed all the way by the Cork side that were looking to bridge a 15 year gap since they last got their hands on this prestigious crown.

Led on the scoring stakes by Beth Carton and Orla Dwyer, UL started this one well and looked like they would lead at the turn however a goal on the stroke of half time from UCC’s Katrina Mackey meant that the challengers went in leading by the minimum, 1-3 to 0-5.

Orla Cronin Orla Cronin in action for UCC against UL tonight. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

UL responded straight from the restart with a point from Ciara Murphy however the Leesiders hit back with a quick brace from Orla Cronin and Mackey but from that point on the Limerick side grabbed this one by the neck, pushing out to a five point lead as the game entered the final 10 minutes

UCC’s Cronin continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over for the skull and crossbones with a total of six points (four frees) however despite a strong rally late on this one was destined to go north up the N20 back to the familiar trophy cabinet from where it came.

Scorers for UL: B Carton 0-5 (2f, 1.45 ); O Dwyer 0-4; R Howard, C Murphy, S Fryday, G O’Brien, N Hanniffy, E Fryday 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCC: O Cronin 0-7 (5f, 1.45); K Mackey 1-1; M McCarthy 0-1.

UL celebrate at the final whistle Contrasting reactions at the final whistle in Mallow. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO


Roisin Breen (Goresbridge, Kilkenny)

Ciannait Walsh (Annacarty, Tipperary)
Mary Ryan (Moneygall, Tipperary)
Ciara Grogan (Clooney-Quin, Clare)

Eimear Kelly (Truagh/Clonlara, Clare)
Ciara Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona, Clare)
Karen Kennedy (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary)

Ereena Fryday (Clonoulty Rossmore, Tipperary)
Ciara Murphy (Clarinbridge, Galway)

Roisin Howard (Cahir, Tipperary)
Beth Carton (De La Salle, Waterford)
Orla O’Dwyer (Cashel, Tipperary)

Sarah Fryday (Clonoulty Rossmore, Tipperary)
Niamh Hanniffy (Oranmore/Maree, Galway)
Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen, Limerick)


Aoife Keane (Inagh/Kilnamona, Clare) for S Fryday (40)
Ailish Considine (Kilmihil, Clare) for C Murphy (45)
Grainne O’Brien (Nenagh, Tipperary) for C Lyons (50)


Laura Brennan (Rathnure, Wexford)

Roisin Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks, Wexford)
Meabh Cahalane (St Finbarr’s, Cork)
Leanne O’Sullivan (Glen Rovers, Cork)

Aoife Landers (An Rinn, Waterford)
Libby Coppinger (St Colum’s, Cork)
Chloe Sigerson (Killeagh, Cork)

Maeve McCarthy (Sarsfields, Cork)
Hannah Looney (Killeagh, Cork)

Amy O’Connor (St Vincents, Cork)
Orla Cronin (Enniskeane, Cork)
Sinead McNamara (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

Pamela Mackey (Douglas, Cork)
Niamh McCarthy (Inniscarra, Cork)
Katrina Mackey (Douglas, Cork)


Lauren Callanan (Glen Rovers, Cork) for M McCarthy (40)
H Ryan (Blackrock, Cork) for A Landers (50)

Referee: J McDonagh (Galway)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘This motion is an insult to Congress’ – Cork county board opposes CPA motion on recording votes

Up to 9 Mayo men absent for Dublin showdown as experienced Keane released from panel

About the author:

Diarmuid Sheehan

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel