This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 16 October, 2019

UCD book Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final spot after seeing off CIT

DJ Foran was instrumental in a 1-17 to 1-12 win at Belfield tonight.

UCD's DJ Foran (right) and Michael Kearney of CIT.
UCD's DJ Foran (right) and Michael Kearney of CIT.
Image: Bryan Keane/INPHO

UCD 1-17
CIT 1-12

Conor McKenna reports from Belfield

UCD ADVANCED TO the quarter-finals of the Fitzgibbon Cup after a 1-17 to 1-12 victory over CIT in what was an eventful affair out at Belfield.

The outstanding DJ Foran got the game’s first point after three minutes, with the Waterford native accounting for 1-9 over the course of the evening.

Two frees from Michael Kearney gave the Cork college the lead, before Foran levelled proceedings with a short-range free.

The Dublin outfit had built up a five-point lead when an excellent effort from Foran sailed between the posts, but Andrew Coffey’s great finish gave CIT a much-needed goal, which brought the gap back to two points.

John Joe Ryan responded for UCD with a point, but the Cork college were awarded a penalty after 27 minutes, when Kevin O’Neill was fouled inside the area.

Unfortunely for CIT, Michael Kearney’s effort went over the bar. The gap was down to one point at the interval, however, with Tomas O’Connor registering a score on the stroke of half-time.

JJ Doyle UCD manager JJ Doyle. Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

CIT took the lead when Michael Cahalane’s 34th minute effort found the target, but that was as good as it got for the Cork side. UCD were in firm control from that point onwards, with Foran’s goal after 54 minutes sealing the victory.

It was a solid team performance from the Dublin-based university and with players like Foran, Tadhg de Burca and Robert Lennon in their side, they will no doubt hope to be in contention for Fitzgibbon glory.

Scorers for UCD: DJ Foran 1-9 (6f), James Maher and Darren Codd (0-3 each), Stephen Quirke and Seamus Flanagan 0-1 each.

Scorers for CIT: Michael Kearney 0-7 (4f, 1 pen, 1″65″), Andrew Coffey 1-0, Patrick Collins (1f), Tomas O’Connor, Jerry O’Neill, Michael Ryan and Michael Cahalane 0-1 each.


1. Darragh Hughes (Wexford)

2. Brian Quiqley (Wexford)
3. Rob Lennon (Kilkenny)
4. Gary Molloy (Wexford)

5. Michael Cody (Kilkenny)
6. Tadhg de Burca (Waterford)
7. Padraic Guinan (Offaly)

8. James Maher (Kilkenny
9. John Joe Ryan (Tipperary)

10. DJ Foran (Waterford)
11. Stephen Quirke (Tipperary)
12. Seamus Flanagan (Limerick)

13. Tom Phelan (Kilkenny)
14. John Murphy (Kilkenny)
15. Darren Codd (Wexford)


23. Sean Carey (Kilkenny) for Phelan (58)


1. Patrick Collins (Cork)

17. Donnacha Hartnett (Laois)
3. Darragh Fanning (Limerick)
4. Kevin Galvin (Kilkenny)

5. Dave Noonan (Cork)
6. Enda Heffernan (Tipperary)
30. Robbie Hanley (Limerick)

8. Conor Hammersley (Tipperary)
9. Ronan Heffernan (Tipperary)

10. Jerry O’Neill (Cork)
11. Michael Kearney (Waterford)
12. Kevin O’Neill (Cork)

13. Tomas O’Connor (Cork)
29. Michael Cahalane (Cork)
15. Andrew Coffey (Tipperary)


14. Colm Keane (Cork) for O’Neill (inj. 26)
21. John Looney (Cork) for O’Connor (40)
23. John Buckley (Kerry) for Keane (48)
20. Michael Ryan (Tipperary) for Kevin O’Neill (49).

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath).

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Man of the moment! David Clifford inspires IT Tralee to first Sigerson win in 11 years

Kerry’s Spillane nets injury-time penalty to hand 14-man UCC dramatic Sigerson win over Garda College

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Conor McKenna

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel