Luca Bruno/AP/Press Association Images

Vettel is untouchable at inaugural Indian GP as Massa and Hamilton clash again

Sebastian Vettel led the Indian Grand Prix from start to finish to close in on Michael Schumacher’s 2004 record of 13 race wins.

SEBASTIAN VETTEL’S REMARKABLE championship-winning season only got better on Sunday as he took victory in the inaugural Indian Grand Prix, finishing a full 8.4seconds ahead of Jenson Button in second.

It was arguably Vettel’s most impressive weekend in the sport, as he achieved pole, race win, fastest lap and led for every single lap. He is now just two wins behind Michael Schumacher’s record of 13 from 2004.

With Button never challenging the German, the biggest talking point from the race emerged from another clash between Ferrari’s Felipe Massa and Lewis Hamilton of McLaren.

The pair have collided on six occasions this season and this time the blame was place at the door of Massa, who swiped in front of Hamilton on lap 24 and forced the Briton off to get a new front wing. While Hamilton recovered to take seventh, Massa’s race was over four laps later as he damaged his front-left suspension.

A superior pit-stop strategy meant that Fernando Alonso took third place from Mark Webber, who has not won a single race all season.

Then came the Mercedes duo of Schumacher and Nico Rosberg, followed by Hamilton, with Jaime Alguersuari, Bruno Senna of Renault and Force India’s Adrian Sutil claiming the minor places.

Read: McIlroy claims massive prize in Shanghai >