Advertisement
Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
# Deception
WATCH: Players refuse to shake hands following controversial call in US Open doubles final
Marcin Matkowski declined to admit the ball hit his leg during the recent men’s final.

A CONTROVERSIAL CALL helped Philip Petzschner and Jurgen Melzer win the US Open men’s doubles final.

Having already lost the first set, Mariusz Fyrstenberg and Marcin Matkowski endured a further setback when a point was mistakenly awarded to their opponents.

A powerful volley from Matkowski bounced off Petzschner’s leg and went over the net.

The umpire, who assumed the ball had been legitimately returned by Petzschner, awarded him the point. Petzschner subsequently refused to admit that the ball had hit his leg.

Melzer and Petzschner ultimately won the match 6-2, 6-2 and an angry Matkowski declined to shake hands with Petzschne afterwards.

h/t Busted Racket

US Open: Is Djokovic’s season the best ever?>

In pictures: Djoko joy at US Open>

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member