Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Wednesday 2 December 2020

Shanahans celebrate, Gleeson sent-off, Wexford finalists known and Tipp reach last eight

A big day of hurling action in Waterford, Wexford and Tipperary.

MAURICE SHANAHAN HIT 1-11 and celebrated with his brother Dan as Lismore booked a spot in the Waterford senior hurling semi-finals tonight after a day when Mount Sion also reached the Deise semi-finals despite Austin Gleeson being sent-off.

maurice-shanahan-and-dan-shanahan-with-brian-looby-and-colin-foley Maurice and Dan Shanahan with Brian Looby and Colin Foley. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Lismore defeated Abbeyside 2-22 to 3-11 this evening in the Fraher Field while earlier Mount Sion ran out 3-18 to 2-17 victors over De La Salle in Walsh Park. Lismore’s reward now is to face the reigning champions Ballygunner while Mount Sion will take on Passage.

Maurice Shanahan’s late goal sealed Lismore’s win, his 43-year-old brother and Waterford icon Dan had joined him off the bench to play in attack by then, while Oisin O’Gorman also starred for Lismore with 1-5 from play.

Abbeyside made a game of it with Mark Ferncombe’s two goals in the second half and Waterford vice-captain Conor Prunty came up field to get another to cut the gap to three at one juncture before Lismore sealed their success.

Mount Sion saw 2016 Hurler of the Year Gleeson dismissed for a second yellow card offence but were able to savour a four-point victory. Martin O’Neill hit 0-11 for the club with Alan Kirwan (2-0), Stephen Roche (1-1) and Gleeson (0-4) all contributing int he scoring takes. Kevin Moran and Reuben Halloran netted for De La Salle.

In Wexford tonight the senior hurling finalists were confirmed after Naomh Éanna edged out Oulart-the-Ballagh 1-20 to 1-19 in their semi-final while earlier Shelmaliers had defeated Glynn-Barntown in their last four tie by 3-20 to 0-16.

Conor McDonald was Naomh Éanna’s scoring hero as he hit the winning point with Gary Molloy scoring their goal and Garreth Sinnott raised the green flag for an Oulart team that were in front 0-13 to 1-7 at the interval. Shelmaliers ran out victors by 13 points with goals from Joe Kelly, Sean Keane-Carroll and James Cash aiding their cause.

2018 winners Naomh Éanna will now meet 2014 champions Shelmaliers in the decider next Sunday which will be shown live on TG4.

gary-molloy-celebrates-scoring-a-goal-in-front-of-the-oulart-the-ballagh-substitutes Gary Molloy celebrates scoring a goal in front of the Oulart-the-Ballagh substitutes. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

sean-keane-carroll-celebrates-after-the-game-with-james-cash Shelmaliers players celebrate after the match. Source: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

The senior hurling group stages also concluded in Tipperary today with the progression of reigning champions Borris-Ileigh, Loughmore-Castleiney and Toomevara to the quarter-final stage confirmed.

Borris-Ileigh won 1-20 to 2-10 tonight against Upperchurch-Drombane in their group game with Niall Kenny striking the goal for last January’s All-Ireland finalists. Toomevara turned things around in the second half of their game with Burgess to win 3-19 to 2-15.

Evan Sweeney was the scoring hero with 2-3 as Loughmore-Castleiney won their pivotal game with Kilruane MacDonaghs by 2-14 to 2-12.

The draw for the quarter-final in the Premier county will take place tomorrow night.

  • Top seeds: Kiladangan, Clonoulty-Rossmore, Thurles Sarsfields, Borris-Ileigh.
  • Second seeds: Drom & Inch, Nenagh Éire Óg, Loughmore-Castleiney, Toomevara. 

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel