This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 19 October, 2018

More good news for Galway youngsters as they make it back-to-back wins in Walsh Cup

Micheal Donoghue’s men earned a convincing victory over NUI Galway.

Galway Manager Micheal Donoghue (file pic).
Galway Manager Micheal Donoghue (file pic).
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Galway 1-20
NUI Galway 0-13

SEAN MCINERNEY SCORED 1-3 on his first start for Galway as they made it back-to-back wins in Group 1 of the Walsh Cup against NUI Galway at Ballinasloe.

Micheal Donoghue’s men hammered DIT 1-30 to 0-12 last weekend and although they trailed 0-11 to 0-5 at half-time, a Dan Nevin-inspired second-half — he scored nine points — helped them to the victory.

NUI Galway came into this game on the back of a five-point defeat against Laois. But they held a 0-11 to 0-5 lead at half-time after they used the elements in their favour in the opening half.

Nevin scored Galway’s first point in the third minute, but Aiden Helebert hit back moments later.

Galway full-forward Jason Flynn, who scored 0-7 against DIT, was unusually off-target from the placed ball.

NUI Galway took advantage and scored six points in a row between the 11th and 33rd minutes to take a 0-10 to 0-3 lead.

Sean Loftus scored a crucial point for Galway, either side of two Ger Hennelly efforts, and Nevin closed off the scoring.

Galway trailed by six at the break but turned it around, McInerney scored his third point to level the game in the 48th minute. And they scored 1-12 without reply as McInerney notched the goal in the 69th minute.

Scorers – Galway: D Nevin 0-9 (0-6f), D Glennon 0-3, S McInerney 1-3, J Flynn 0-1, S Loftus 0-1, E Niland 0-1, T Monaghan 0-1, J Coyne 0-1.
NUI Galway: G Hennelly 0-5 (0-4f), C Cleary 0-3 (0-3f), J Fox 0-2, A Helebert 0-1, G Loughnane 0-1, C Ryan 0-1.

1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

2. Jack Grealish (Gort)
3. Ronan Burke (Turloughmore)
4. Matt Donoghue (Moycullen)

5. Sean Loftus (Turloughmore)
6. Brian Flaherty (Abbeyknockmoy)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Matthew Keating (Turloughmore)
9. Dan Nevin (Cappataggle)

10. Padraig Brehony (Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry)
11. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
12. Davy Glennon (Mullagh)

13. Sean McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
14. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkins)
15. Thomas Monaghan (Craughwell)

18. Jamie Holland (Turloughmore) for Grealish (31 mins)
23. Martin Dolphin (Portumna) for Burke (35)
19. Evan Niland (Clarinbridge) for Cooney (56)
20. Jack Coyne (Clarinbridge) for Brehony (59)
17. Cian Salmon (Clarinbridge) for Glennon (63)
22. Ciaran Connor (Kilnadeema-Leitrim) for Donoghue (63)

NUI Galway
1. Cathal Tuohy (Galway)

2. Conor Cosgrave (Galway)
3. Barry Fitzpatrick (Clare)
4. Ger Fennelly (Tipperary)

5. Mike Connelly (Galway)
6. Conor Cleary (Clare)
7. Ger Forde (Galway)

8. Ian Fox (Galway)
9. Oisin Donnellan (Clare)

10. Stephen Barrett (Galway)
11. Stephen Hynes (Galway)
12. Aiden Helebert (Galway)

13. John Fox (Limerick)
14. Gearoid Loughnane (Galway)
15. Ger Hennelly (Galway)

21. Conor Ryan (Tipperary) for Fox (52 mins)
24. Conor O Halloran (Clare) for Hynes (52)
17. Jack Cummins (Galway) for Cosgrave (61)
27. Shane Moloney (Galway) for Barrett (61)
18. Con Smyth (Clare) for Forde (66)

Referee: Michael Murtagh (Westmeath).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

2013 Munster final man-of-the-match is back for another year with Limerick>

Chiefs in hot water again as Super Rugby side apologise for obscenities>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next: