This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 13 °C Saturday 26 May, 2018

These 20 Irish athletes will get the highest level of Sports Council funding

€1.57 million will be shared among 75 athletes this year.

World champion Rob Heffernan: given €40k grant to boost his Olympic challenge.
World champion Rob Heffernan: given €40k grant to boost his Olympic challenge.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

TWENTY OF IRELAND’S Rio hopefuls have been granted “podium” level funding to help their medal challenge at the 2016 Olympics and Paralympic Games.

The Irish Sports Council today released details of the 2015 International Carding Scheme which will invest €1.57 million in direct funding to athletes.

London Olympic medallists Katie Taylor, Michael Conlan and Paddy Barnes are among those who will receive top level grants of €40,000 as do reigning Paralympic champions Michael McKillop, Jason Smyth and Mark Rohan.

In total, 75 athletes from 14 different sports will receive funding ranging from €40,000 to €3,000 this year. The total is broadly in line with the €1.6 million allocated under the carding scheme in 2014.

2015 Carding – Podium Level Grants

  • Robert Heffernan (Athletics)
  • Katie Taylor (Boxing)
  • Joe Ward  (Boxing)
  • Michael Conlan (Boxing)
  • Paddy Barnes (Boxing)
  • Derek Burnett (Shooting)*
  • Colin Lynch (Cycling – Para)
  • Martyn Irvine (Cycling)
  • Mark Rohan (Cycling – Para)
  • Katie George Dunlevy (Cycling – Para)*
  • Eoghan Clifford (Cycling – Para)*
  • Michael McKillop (Paralympics Ireland – Athletics)
  • Jason Smyth (Paralympics Ireland – Athletics)
  • Orla Barry (Paralympics Ireland – Athletics)
  • Ellen Keane (Paralympics Ireland – Swimming)
  • Darragh McDonald (Paralympics Ireland – Swimming)
  • Laurence McGivern (Paralympics Ireland – Swimming)
  • James Scully (Paralympics Ireland – Swimming)
  • Annalise Murphy (Sailing)
  • Aileen Reid (Triathlon)

*Burnett, Dunlevy and Clifford agreed that a portion of their funding would be invested directly in their programme by their National Governing Body.

‘A legend of Irish sport’: Katie Taylor has joined in the tributes to King Henry Shefflin

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel