This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 19 July, 2018

Tipperary include two senior panellists in U21 team to face Limerick in Munster quarter

The two counties meet at the Gaelic Grounds tomorrow evening.

Tipp U21 hurling manager William Maher.
Tipp U21 hurling manager William Maher.

TIPPERARY MANAGER WILLIAM Maher has included two senior panellists in his team to face Limerick in the Bord Gais Energy Munster U21 championship quarter-final tomorrow evening.

Goalkeeper Brian Hogan and midfielder Billy McCarthy, who have both been part of Michael Ryan’s senior panel, start for Tipp as they get their Munster campaign underway at the Gaelic Grounds.

Included in Maher’s XV are six of the side that started last year’s Munster U21 decider while four of the All-Ireland minor winning team from 2016 are included.

Brian McGrath, Ger Browne, Mark Kehoe and Lyndon Fairbrother will make their U21 championship debut.

Meanwhile, Limerick have also named their side for Thursday’s clash with senior hurler Cian Lynch included in an experienced outfit managed by Pat Donnelly.

The action in Limerick gets underway at 7.30pm.


1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

2. Paul Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
3. Emmett Moloney (Drom & Inch)
4. Kevin Hassett (Drom & Inch)

5. Robert Byrne (Portroe)
6. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
7. Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty-Rossmore)

8. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)
9. Ger Browne (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams)

10. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg, captain)
11. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers)
12. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

13. Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens)
14. David Gleeson (Ballinahinch)
15. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)


1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen)
4. Dan Joy (Kilmallock)

5. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
7. Josh Adams (Ballybrown)

8. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)
9. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)

10. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane, captain)

13. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
15. Barry Murphy (Doon).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Dealing with being targeted by the opposition is Brian Fenton’s ‘biggest challenge’ – Whelan

‘I just said, “Go away, mind your own business”‘ – Dan Shanahan’s response to Cork heckler

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel