The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 26 April, 2015

#Well read

# well-read - Today’s News

You snooze, you win, Shaq looks back and the week’s best sportswriting

You’ve been out in the sun all week. Stay in, and treat yourself to these gems from around the internet.

# well-read - Sunday 19 April, 2015

What it’s like to run a marathon in North Korea and the week’s best sportswriting

We’ll also learn how judging an MMA fight works.

# well-read - Sunday 12 April, 2015

The quiet rise of Andy Lee, what drives Phil Taylor and the week’s best sportswriting

We also have a feature of the man who christened Amen Corner.

# well-read - Sunday 8 March, 2015

Tiger’s fall, Ireland to win the World Cup and cricket emerging: It’s the week’s best sportswriting

There are also superb pieces on a homeless former college footballer and how the All Blacks coach their players.

# well-read - Sunday 1 March, 2015

Marty Jannetty, longball football and mathematical modelling – It’s the week’s best sportswriting

This week also features mathematical modelling and the original sports app.

# well-read - Sunday 22 February, 2015

A-Rod, the Don and the week’s best sportswriting

Also featuring a look at football’s racism problem.

# well-read - Sunday 15 February, 2015

Nigel Pearson fights off five dogs and Wozza does Sports Illustrated: It’s the week’s best sportswriting

Also featuring the amusing tale of the Canadian club that signed Eusebio.

# well-read - Sunday 8 February, 2015

# well-read - Sunday 25 January, 2015

Cramming for a QB test and non-celebrations — some of this week’s best sportswriting

Come on in and let Gronk read you a story.

# well-read - Sunday 11 January, 2015

Chasing the dream and the inevitable end: It’s the week’s best sportswriting

It’s January. Stay indoors, stay warm and treat yourself to some of the best writers on the internet.

# well-read - Thursday 25 December, 2014

What’s the big deal about McGregor? It’s TheScore.ie’s 50 favourite sports articles of 2014 (part 2)

Also featuring Cork GAA player Jamie Wall, the stray dogs of Sochi and the perils of the Irish national football team.

# well-read - Sunday 7 December, 2014

Putting the asterisks in b****r and more love for Joe Schmidt: the week’s best sportswriting

Kettle on? Feet up? Enjoy some of our favourite articles from the past week.

# well-read - Sunday 30 November, 2014

Catching The Catch, no points for beauty and the rest of this week’s best sportswriting

Whether you’re in to baseball, photography or great rugby players, there’s something here for you.

# well-read - Sunday 16 November, 2014

The internet loves soccer, money’s tight and that f***ing troublemaker: It’s the week’s best sportswriting

Take it easy and take some time to read some of the best sportswriting that appeared online this week.

# well-read - Thursday 30 October, 2014

These are the 6 nominees for Irish Sports Book of the Year 2014

The winner will be announced at a gala event on Wednesday 26 November.

# well-read - Sunday 19 October, 2014

A tribute to Serena and the sad ballad of Ken Caminiti; it’s the week’s best sportswriting

Also, there’s a compelling case made against Ched Evans playing professional football again.

# well-read - Sunday 12 October, 2014

Roddy on Roy’s taste in enemies & a dark, unsettling baseball story; it’s the week’s best sportswriting

Also, an investigation into where Formula One goes from here and a profile of USA women’s soccer star Abby Wambach.

# well-read - Sunday 5 October, 2014

Jeter, bigamy and ‘fun in the mundane’: It’s the week’s best sportswriting

You deserve a break from the big bad outdoors. Stay in and catch up on some reading.

# well-read - Sunday 7 September, 2014

The GAA’s role in the NFL’s future and the craziest stunt in wresting; it’s the week’s best sportswriting

Why would you go outside when there is so much good stuff you haven’t read yet.

# well-read - Sunday 24 August, 2014

George Best’s time in Cork and the Louis Van Gaal dossier; the week’s best sportswriting

Also, how Ferguson’s high school American football team are coping amidst the chaos.

# well-read - Sunday 10 August, 2014

Football in the Great War, Ciao Prandelli and Rory’s lunch with Sergio — it’s the week’s best sportswriting

Why would you go outside when there is so much good stuff you haven’t read yet.

# well-read - Sunday 27 July, 2014

From Ronda Rousey to David Feherty: It’s the week’s best sportswriting

You’ve had a long week, treat yourself with half a dozen gems from around the internet.

# well-read - Sunday 13 July, 2014

LeBron’s decision and Brazil’s World Cup humiliation: some of this week’s best sportswriting

Stick on the kettle and get stuck in to this week’s picks.

# well-read - Sunday 29 June, 2014

# well-read - Sunday 22 June, 2014

It’s Sunday so get stuck in to some of the week’s best sportswriting

Yes, it’s mostly World Cup-based.

# well-read - Sunday 20 April, 2014

# well-read - Sunday 13 April, 2014

# well-read - Sunday 23 March, 2014

Arsène Wenger, a godfather of sports analytics and BOD; this week’s best sportswriting

There’s also room for the story of Scotland’s greatest win and a study of box kicking in rugby.

# well-read - Sunday 2 March, 2014

The tale of Jean-Pierre Adams and disproving your own beliefs; this week’s best sportswriting

This week’s most enjoyable reads include an examination of the state of UFC and Jonathan Wilson’s Sunderland-based concerns.

# well-read - Sunday 23 February, 2014

Cool Runnings isn’t even that good?! Some of the week’s best sportswriting

Stick the kettle on, pull up a comfy chair and enjoy the six of these.

# well-read - Sunday 26 January, 2014

# well-read - Sunday 19 January, 2014

Scooters, silent sidelines and Hoop Dreams: It’s the week’s best sportswriting

If it’s longreads you want, we’ve got just the thing.

# well-read - Sunday 12 January, 2014

Fergie’s watching you sleep and the rest of the week’s best sportswriting

Get the kettle on and make room for some of the internet’s best work from the past seven days.

# well-read - Sunday 5 January, 2014

Stats, Qatar and Saturday night stirring: Some of the week’s best sportswriting

Why go outside when you’ve all this top, top sportswriting to catch up on.

# well-read - Sunday 29 December, 2013

Escape to Victory, the ‘most entertaining fight of the year’ and battling the All Blacks: some of the week’s best sportswriting

Grab a coffee, relax and enjoy the best sports journalism on the web.

# well-read - Tuesday 24 December, 2013

TheScore.ie’s 50 favourite sports articles of 2013 (part 1)

Featuring Manti Te’o, Mike Tyson, Conor Cusack, concussion in rugby and much more.

# well-read - Sunday 22 December, 2013

Bribes, fixing and Kim Kardashian: it’s some of the week’s best sportswriting

Here’s the best the internet had to offer this week.

# well-read - Sunday 15 December, 2013

# well-read - Sunday 8 December, 2013

‘In sports, the dream of the Rainbow Nation became flesh’: some of the week’s best sportswriting

Stick on the kettle and enjoy these Sunday sports reads.

# well-read - Sunday 1 December, 2013

Chess, chest USBs and taking time for Tebow: some of the week’s best sportswriting

Here’s the best the internet could offer this week.

1 2 3 4