Dublin: 13°C Monday 20 September 2021

7 from Kilkenny, 4 from Galway: Here's the 2015 Allstar hurling team of the year

The All-Ireland finalists take 11 of the 15 places on offer, with seven first time Allstars selected in 2015.

Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Kilkenny dominate the 2015 GAA/GPA Allstar hurling team with seven winners.

Leading the way is Cats corner-back Paul Murphy who is selected for the fourth time in five seasons.

The Danesfort man is joined by Joey Holden in the full-back line as well as team-mates Cillian Buckley, Michael Fennelly, Richie Hogan, TJ Reid and Ger Aylward.

Beaten finalists Galway take four places on the team while there are three Allstars this year from Waterford and one from Tipperary.

Galway keeper Colm Callanan is selected following a stellar championship between the sticks. Daithi Burke is selected at right half-back while David Burke is chosen in midfield and 21-year-old Cathal Mannion is named in the half-forward line.

Waterford are represented by Noel Connors, Tadhg de Burca and Maurice Shanahan while Seamus Callanan, who famously scored 3-9 in Tipp’s semi-final defeat to Galway, is the sole Premier representative.

Seven of the players selected this year are first-time Allstars — Colm Callanan, Holden, Daithi Burke, de Burca, Mannion, Aylward and Shanahan — while Connors, Buckley, David Burke and Seamus Callanan all collect their second honours.

Fennelly, the All-Ireland final man of the match, and Hogan and Reid complete a hat-trick of awards while Murphy picks up an impressive fourth.

Hogan, Reid and Tipp’s Callanan have to wait until Friday evening to see who will be crowned GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year at the official awards ceremony in the Convention Centre Dublin.

Mannion, de Búrca and Galway’s Jason Flynn — who was unlucky to miss out on an individual award — have been shortlisted for Young Hurler of the Year.

The Allstar football team, as well as Footballer and Young Footballer of the Year, will also be announced on Friday night. The ceremony will be broadcast live on RTÉ One with coverage beginning at 7pm.

GAA/GPA Allstar Hurling Team 2015

1. Colm Callanan (Galway)

2. Paul Murphy (Kilkenny)
3. Joey Holden (Kilkenny)
4. Noel Connors (Waterford)

5. Daithi Burke (Galway)
6. Tadhg de Burca (Waterford)
7. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

8. Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny)
9. David Burke (Galway)

10. Cathal Mannion (Galway)
11. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)
12. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)

13. Ger Aylward (Kilkenny)
14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)
15. Maurice Shanahan (Waterford)

Hurling’s lesser lights honoured in Meagher, Rackard and Ring teams of the year

Ulster GAA officials have had their say on the Donegal/Tyrone ‘sledging’ row

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: