Dublin: 8°C Wednesday 19 January 2022

Who do you think will be crowned 2021 All-Ireland SHC champions?

Limerick are defending champions.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

WITH DUBLIN COMING out on top of our football predictions poll yesterday, attention switches to the 2021 All-Ireland senior hurling championship this morning.

We’ve had a bigger spread of champions over the past few years when it comes to small ball, with five different counties getting their hands on the Liam MacCarthy Cup since 2010:

  • Limerick (2020 and 2018)
  • Tipperary (2019, 2016 and 2010)
  • Galway (2017)
  • Kilkenny (2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015)
  • Clare (2013)

Most people feel the Limerick juggernaut will roll on in 2021, with John Kiely’s Treaty county the outstanding team over the past couple of seasons. 

But Galway showed real potential in the league, and condemned them to their first defeat in almost two years. Likewise, Tipperary and Waterford have been there or thereabouts, and Brian Cody’s Kilkenny are always in the mix.

Then, there’s what most would call the chasing pack.

We’ve narrowed the list down for poll purposes, but do let us know your thoughts in the comments section below. 


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Who do you think will be crowned 2021 All-Ireland SHC champions?

Poll Results:

Limerick (1584)
Galway (1437)
Tipperary (533)
Cork (506)
Kilkenny (288)
Waterford (243)
Clare (235)
Other (128)
Dublin (109)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel