Armagh's Kevin Dyas and Fermanagh's Tomas Corrigan are on the move.
Making The Move

Armagh and Fermanagh players complete transfers to Dublin GAA clubs

Kevin Dyas and Tomas Corrigan are heading to the capital.

TWO ULSTER INTER-county players have completed transfers to Dublin GAA clubs.

Armagh’s Kevin Dyas has moved to southside club Kilmacud Crokes from his native Dromintee.

While Fermanagh’s Tomas Corrigan has switched to the Navan Road-based club St Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Ruadh from his home club in the Erne County, Kinawley.

Both transfers had been mooted for some time and were rubber stamped in recent days.

The duo are both big additions to their respective clubs, having featured on the inter-county stage last summer. Dyas did find his 2015 season restricted by a broken finger and two separate knee injuries.

He will link up with a Kilmacud Crokes side that lost out in the second round of the Dublin SFC last year to eventual winners Ballyboden St-Enda’s.

Current Dublin seniors Cian O’Sullivan, Paul Mannion and Eoin Culligan will be amongst his teammates but it was confirmed recently that Allstar defender Rory O’Carroll is moving to New Zealand.

Rory O'Carroll celebrates with the Sam Maguire trophy Dublin's Rory O'Carroll Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Dyas is not the only player from outside of Dublin in the Kilmacud ranks with Longford’s Brian Kavanagh, Roscommon’s Donal Ward and Cavan’s Eugene Keating also involved. Kilmacud native Pat Burke lined out for Clare in the 2015 championship under the parentage rule.

Kilmacud Crokes last reached the Dublin senior final in 2012 where they lost to Ballymun Kickhams and their most recent title win was in 2010.

Corrigan was a key attacker in the Fermanagh team that reached the All-Ireland quarter-final stage, hitting 1-2 in that loss to Dublin and 1-7 in the previous round win over Westmeath in the qualifiers. Yesterday he shot 0-3 as Fermanagh saw off Down in the Dr McKenna Cup.

Tomas Corrigan under pressure from Cian OÕSullivan and Michael Fitzsimons Tomas Corrigan in action against the Dublin defence last year. Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

He joins a St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghan Ruadh setup that features the Brogan brothers, Alan and Bernard, along with former Dublin seniors Ross McConnell and Declan Lally.

Youngster Niall Walsh has also seen action for Dublin in the O’Byrne Cup this year, while Armagh’s Ciaran McKeever also lined out for the club last season.

Bernard Brogan Bernard Brogan will have a new club teammate this year in Tomas Corrigan. Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

St Oliver Plunkett’s have never lifted a Dublin senior football crown but have come extremely close in recent years as they lost the 2008 and 2011 finals by two-point margins, and the 2014 decider by a point.

They were also defeated by Ballyboden St-Enda’s in the 2015 Dublin senior football championship, bowing out at the quarter-final stage.

Cork manager to stay on in bid to complete All-Ireland three-in-a-row

Five-time All-Ireland winner Bryan Sheehan will captain Kerry this season

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.