Dublin: 14°C Wednesday 25 May 2022

Ex-Leinster man Douglas dropped as Cheika shuffles Wallabies locks

Meanwhile, Argentina have brought four new faces into their XV.

FORMER LEINSTER LOCK Kane Douglas has been dropped from Australia’s matchday squad as head coach Michael Cheika shuffles his second row ahead of Saturday’s Rugby Championship clash with Argentina in Perth [KO 11.05am Irish time, Sky Sports 3].

AustraliaÕs Kane Douglas Kane Douglas' time in Ireland did not work out. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

Douglas had started all three games in the tournament so far, but makes way for Rob Simmons. Adam Coleman of the Western Force will partner Simmons in the engine room as the Wallabies look to back up last weekend’s win over South Africa.

Waratahs prop Tom Robertson and explosive Melbourne Rebels back row Lopeti Timani could make their Test debuts against the Pumas after being included on the bench.

Cheika has opted for an unchanged backline, with Quade Cooper continuing at out-half as Bernard Foley lines out in the 12 shirt again.

Meanwhile, Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade has brought four new faces into his XV after last weekend’s defeat to New Zealand.

Brumbies scrum-half Tomas Cubelli is given the nod in the nine shirt, while Santiago González Iglesias takes over at inside centre with Juan Martín Hernández injured. Juan Manuel Leguizamón comes in at openside, while former Munster man Lucas González Amorosino starts on the left wing.


15. Israel Folau
14. Dane Haylett-Petty
13. Samu Kerevi
12. Bernard Foley
11. Reece Hodge
10. Quade Cooper
9. Will Genia

1. Scott Sio
2. Stephen Moore (captain)
3. Sekope Kepu
4. Rob Simmons
5. Adam Coleman
6. Dean Mumm
7. Michael Hooper
8. David Pocock

Replacements (one to be omitted):

Tatafu Polota-Nau
James Slipper
Tom Robertson
Rory Arnold
Lopeti Timani
Sean McMahon
Nick Phipps
Tevita Kuridrani
Henry Speight


15. Joaquin Tuculet
14. Santiago Cordero
13. Matias Moroni
12. Santiago González Iglesias
11. Lucas González Amorosino
10. Nico Sanchez
9. Tomas Cubelli

1. Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
2. Agustín Creevy (captain)
3. Ramiro Herrera
4. Javier Ortega Desio
5. Matias Alemanno
6. Pablo Matera
7. Juan Manuel Leguizamon
8. Facundo Isa


16. Julian Montoya
17. Lucas Noguera
18. Enrique Peretto
19. Marcos Kremer
20. Leonardo Senatore
21. Martin Landajo
22. Gabriel Ascarate
23. Matias Orlando

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘It’s an honour to be talked about in terms of an Ireland squad’

22-year-old Savea gets first All Blacks start for Springboks clash

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel