Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Saturday 17 April 2021

Ballyboden St-Enda's reach Dublin hurling decider with win over St Brigid's

The second senior hurling semi-final took place at Parnell Park tonight.

Ballyboden St Enda’s Peter Buckeridge and Sean Brady of St Brigid's.
Ballyboden St Enda’s Peter Buckeridge and Sean Brady of St Brigid's.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

Ballyboden St Enda’s 2-17
St Brigid’s  1-9

BALLYBODEN ST-ENDA’S are back in the Dublin senior hurling final after an emphatic semi-final win over St Brigid’s tonight in Parnell Park.

Ballyboden St-Enda’s, who reigned supreme in Dublin as they completed a five-in-a-row between 2007 and 2011, exited the championship after the group stages last year.

But they are back in the decider now this season where they will meet Lucan Sarsfields in the battle for silverware. They were far too strong for their opponents tonight although St Brigid’s had got off to a dream start when Laois senior footballer John O’Loughlin found the net in the 4th minute.

But Ballyboden St Enda’s bounced back to lead by 2-6 to 1-5 at the interval thanks to goals from wing-back Shane Durkin and attacker Maurice Nagle. St Brigid’s were still in the hunt at the break with Paul Winters and Patrick McAvinue chipping in with some fine points.

When Ruairi Dunbar pointed in the 40th minute, St Brigid’s were only three points adrift at 2-8 to 1-8. Yet they only managed one more point for the rest of the game as Ballyboden St-Enda’s started to dominate.

Paul Ryan, Conal Keaney, Conor McCormack and Gavin Corrigan all chipped in as they added nine points in the last 20 minutes to run out winners by a 11-point margin.


Ballyboden’s Shane Durkin celebrates scoring his sides opening goal
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

Scorers for Ballyboden St Enda’s: Paul Ryan 0-6 (0-4f), Shane Durkin 1-1, Maurice Nagle 1-0, Conal Keaney 0-3, Niall McMorrow, Gavin Corrigan 0-2 each, Stephen O’Connor, Stephen Hiney, Conor McCormack 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Brigid’s: John O’Loughlin 1-0, Paul Winters 0-3 (0-2f), Patrick McAvinue 0-2 (0-2f), Pat Rohan, Ruairi Dunbar, Dara Doyle, Alan Nolan (0-1f) 0-1 each.

BALLYBODEN ST ENDA’S: Gary Maguire; Stephen O’Connor, Dean Curran, Malachy Travers; Conor Robinson, Tim Sweeney, Stephen Hiney; Peter Buckeridge, Shane Durkin; Conor McCormack, David Curtin, Conal Keaney; Niall McMorrow, Maurice Nagle, PaulRyan.

Subs: Dave Sweeney for Robinson (27), Gavin Corrigan for Buckeridge (half-time), Finn McGarry for Curtin (50), Emmet Carroll for O’Connor (58), Naoise Maguire for Durkin (60).

ST BRIGID’S: Alan Nolan; Cathal Doyle, Sean Brady, Aodhán McEnerney; Conor Ryan, John Smyth, Brendan McEnerney; Patrick McAvinue, Kieran Kellett; Pat Rohan, Paul Winters, Ruairí Dunbar; Daire Plunkett, John O’Loughlin, Dara Doyle.

Subs: Colin Lynch for Doyle (50), Conor Woodgate for Brady (54), David Smyth for Dunbar (57), Stephen Callinan for Kellet (58)

Referee: Peadar Behan (Trinity Gaels)

Lucan Sarsfields advance to first ever Dublin senior hurling final

‘It’s so hard to believe our star, our hero, our idol has been taken from us’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel