Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 20 October 2020

O'Halloran fires winning point as Blackrock end 14-year wait for Cork senior hurling final place

Blackrock saw off Na Piarsaigh in today’s semi-final.

Cork fans fly their flag high after their victory Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Blackrock 0-21
Na Piarsaigh 2-14

Fintan O’Toole reports from Páirc Uí Chaoimh

CORK U21 MICHAEL O’Halloran fired over the match-winning point to cap a second-half comeback from Blackrock as they ended a 14-year wait for a county senior hurling final appearance this afternoon at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Blackrock were rocked early in the second-half of this semi-final clash as they saw their narrow half-time advantage, 0-12 to 0-11, wiped out when Evan Sheehan was sprung from the bench by Na Piarsaigh at the interval to devastating effect.

Having netted in this year’s All-Ireland minor hurling final, Sheehan showed his scoring instincts as he billowed the net twice inside the opening three minutes of the second half with terrific individual strikes.

Evan Sheehan Cork minor hurler Evan Sheehan Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

But Blackrock remained composed as they steadily chipped away at Na Piarsaigh’s advantage. Sheehan flighted over a point to push Blackrock 2-13 to 0-15 in front by the 44th minute before Blackrock reeled off five points without reply to go in front courtesy of O’Halloran (3), Ger Regan and David Cashman.

Na Piarsaigh captain Eoin Moynihan slotted a 56th minute point from a ’65 to bring the sides level before O’Halloran supplied the priceless winning point, availing of great composure from substitute Cashman to pick him out in space.

Blackrock ultimately deserved their triumph with their powerful finish to the match. O’Halloran was their top scorer but Regan, Shane O’Keeffe and Alan O’Callaghan all made important contributions as well.

In an entertaining opening period, the teams were level on five occasions before Na Piarsaigh, who were spearheaded up front by Padraig Guest and Keith Buckley, were boosted by that brace of goals from Sheehan.

However they were outscored 0-6 to 0-1 in the closing quarter and that statistic proved crucial. Blackrock celebrated with gusto at the final whistle, a 14-year absence has been brought to an end.

Scorers for Blackrock: Michael O’Halloran 0-8 (0-6f), Ger Regan, Shane O’Keeffe 0-3 each, Alan O’Callaghan 0-2, Niall Cashman, Stephen Murphy, David O’Farrell, David Cashman, Liam O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Na Piarsaigh: Evan Sheehan 2-1, Padraig Guest 0-5 (0-4f), Keith Buckley 0-4 (0-1f), Eoin Moynihan 0-2 (0-1f, 0-1 ’65), Shane Forde, Christopher Joyce 0-1 each.


1. Gavin Connolly

2. John Cashman
3. Dylan Stokes
4. Gary Norberg

5. Andrew Murphy
6. Eoin Smith
7. Niall Cashman

8. Stephen Murphy
9. David O’Farrell

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Ger Regan
11. Alan O’Callaghan
12. Shane O’Keeffe

18. Ciaran Cormack
14. Michael O’Halloran
15. John O’Sullivan


21. Liam O’Sullivan for John O’Sullivan (37)
17. David Cashman for Cormack (42)
28. Daniel Meaney for Andrew Murphy (44)
13. Tadhg Deasy for Liam O’Sullivan (61)

Na Piarsaigh

1. Paul O’Sullivan

2. Adam Dennehy
3. Eddie Gunning
4. Eoin Moynihan (captain)

5. Anthony Dennehy
6. Christopher Joyce
7. Cian Buckley

8. Alan Brady
9. Kelvin Forde

10. Keith Buckley
11. Dayne Lee
12. Patrick Rourke

23. Alan Hogan
14. Shane Forde
15. Padraig Guest


13. Evan Sheehan for Kelvin Forde (half-time)
26. Gordon Joyce for Hogan (39)
25. Eoghan Hanifin for Guest (52)
9. Kelvin Forde for Brady (56)

Referee: Joe Larkin (Ballinora)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Thurles Sarsfields clinch fourth title on the trot as they blitz Borris-Ileigh

O’Sullivan the Imokilly hero as he rescues Cork hurling semi-final draw against Sarsfields

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel