This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 7 °C Monday 18 February, 2019
Advertisement

Should this 'ghost goal' from the FAI Cup have been awarded?

Bray Wanderers benefited from a hugely-contentious call at Dalymount Park on Friday night.

Updated at 18.30

BOHEMIANS BOSS KEITH Long was understandably furious after his side were knocked out of the FAI Cup by Bray Wanderers in controversial circumstances on Friday night.

The only goal of the game at Dalymount Park arrived in the fourth minute when Peter McGlynn’s attempted cross caught Dean Delany by surprise. The Bohs goalkeeper initially dropped the ball, allowing it to bounce and hit the post.

Assistant referee Robert Clarke seemed to believe that the whole ball had crossed the line and signaled for the goal to be awarded.

Richie Sadlier and Trevor Croly discussed the talking point at length on last night’s Soccer Republic and admitted that they were still uncertain despite watching it back several times.

Decide for yourself. Should the goal have been given?

LOI ghost goal 2.gif Source: RTE Player

Another ex-Ireland international has found a home in the LOI

Goalkeeper controversially sent off for escorting pitch invader off the field

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next:

COMMENTS (10)