Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
# Team news
Szarzewski back as Racing target first Champions Cup title against Sarries
Mark McCall has gone for the same XV that beat Wasps in the semi-finals.

RACING 92 HAVE recalled captain Dmitri Szarzewski for tomorrow’s Champions Cup final clash with Saracens in Lyon [KO 4.45pm Irish time, Sky Sports/BT Sport].

Dan Carter celebrates after the game James Crombie / INPHO Dan Carter will be the main man for Racing again. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

The 33-year-old has recovered from the knee injury he sustained in the quarter-final win over Toulon, with the experienced Virgile Lacombe providing back-up at hooker.

20-year-old France international Camille Chat misses out on making the match day 23 as a result.

Centre Henry Chavancy is also back from injury, but the homegrown Racing man only makes the bench for tomorrow’s European final.

Out-half Dan Carter is fit to start the biggest European game in the Parisian club’s history, having been integral in their progress to the final.

Meanwhile, director of rugby Mark McCall has gone for the same Saracens XV that beat Wasps in the semi-finals.

Racing 92:

15. Brice Dulin
14. Joe Rokocoko
13. Johannes Goosen
12. Alexandre Dumoulin
11. Juan Imhoff
10. Dan Carter
9. Maxime Machenaud

1. Eddy Ben Arous
2. Dmitri Szarzewski (captain)
3. Ben Tameifuna
4. Luke Charteris
5. François van der Merwe
6. Wenceslas Lauret
7. Bernard le Roux
8. Chris Masoe


16. Virgile Lacombe
17. Khatchik Vartanov
18. Luc Ducalcon
19. Manuel Carizza
20. Antonie Claassen
21. Mike Phillips
22. Remi Tales
23. Henry Chavancy


15. Alex Goode
14. Chris Ashton
13. Duncan Taylor
12. Brad Barritt (captain)
11. Chris Wyles
10. Owen Farrell
9. Richard Wigglesworth

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

1. Mako Vunipola
2. Schalk Brits
3. Petrus du Plessis
4. Maro Itoje
5. George Kruis
6. Michael Rhodes
7. Will Fraser
8. Billy Vunipola


16. Jamie George
17. Richard Barrington
18. Juan Figallo
19. Jim Hamilton
20. Jackson Wray
21. Ben Spencer
22. Charlie Hodgson
23. Marcelo Bosch

Referee: Nigel Owens [WRU].

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Analysis: Clontarf and Cork Con show attacking quality of Irish club rugby

Waratahs urge Beale to reject deal to make him the highest-paid player in England