James Crombie/INPHO A dejected Christy McDonagh of Tipperary (file photo).
late arrival

Banner see off Tipperary to book second consecutive final spot after delay in Thurles

Clare, last year’s Munster MFC runners-up, earned a two-point win this evening.

Clare 1-9
Tipperary 2-4

THE CLARE MINOR footballers qualified for their second successive Munster final following their win over Tipperary in Thurles this evening, in a game that started 22 minutes late due to the late arrival of the Clare bus.

Two late points from full forward, Shane Meehan, guided Clare into the decider against Kerry.

Following a stop-start first half, Tipperary led 1-2 to 0-4 at half-time. They looked much sharper than Clare in the opening minutes and kicked their entire first half tally in the first 16 minutes.

Tipperary wing forward, Max Hackett, put away their goal in the tenth minute. He was left completely free in front of goal and expertly netted Kevin Hayes’ pass. Kyle Shelly had pointed the home sides first score in the third minute, while Seán O’Connor added their second point.

Thomas Kelly was the first Clare man to raise a white flag, while Emmet McMahon landed a top class effort from distance. In the closing minutes of the first half, Meehan, pointed a brace of frees, won by Mark McInerney and Kelly.

Clare kicked eight first-half wides, while Tipperary did likewise five times in a half hour’s football that often lacked quality and incisiveness.

Corner forward, Kevin Keane, scored the Clare goal following a Chibby Okoye pass, while Emmet McMahon fired over two invaluable second half points to help Clare over the line.

Scorers for Clare: Shane Meehan 0-5, 3f, Kevin Keane 1-0, Emmet McMahon 0-3, 1f, 1 45, Thomas Kelly 0-1

Scorers for Tipperary: Christy English 1-1, 1f, Max Hackett 1-0, Seán O’Connor 0-2, 1f, Kyle Shelly 0-1


1. Michael Garrihy (St Breckan’s)
2. Jack Reidy (Shannon Gaels)
3. Darragh Connelly (Ennistymon)
4. John Murphy (Ennistymon)
5. Conor Carrig (Wolfe Tones)
6. Cillian Rouine (Ennistymon) (captain)
7. Adam O’Connor (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
8. Chibby Okoye (Banner)
9. Emmet McMahon (Kildysart)
10. Thomas Kelly (Shannon Gaels)
11. Cian McDonagh (Doora-Barefield)
12. Padraic O’Donoghue (Cooraclare)
13. Kevin Keane (Corofin)
14. Shane Meehan (Banner)
15. Mark McInerney (Éire Óg)


17. Gavin D’Aurio (Éire Óg) for Padraic O’Donoghue (43)
21. Sane Lillis (Cooraclare) for Kevin Keane (57)


1. Callan Scully (Éire Óg, Nenagh)
2. Tommy McDonagh, (Cahir)
3. Shane Lowe (Moyne-Templetuohy)
4. Christy McDonagh (Cahir)
5. Mark O’Meara (Grangemockler-Ballyneale (captain)
6. Gavin Meagher (Inane Rovers)
7. Johnny Ryan  (Arravale Rovers)
8. Keith Ryan  (Upperchurch-Drombane)
9. Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris)
10. Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris)
11. Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
12. Christy English  (Ballyporeen)
13. Kyle Shelly  (Moycarkey-Borris)
14. Seán O’Connor (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Eddie Daly (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickham)


17. Rhys Bryon for Keith Ryan (half-time).
18. Billy Murphy (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) for Gavin Meagher (40)
21. Jamie Holloway (Carrick Swan) fir Devon Ryan (45).
22. Paddy Creedon (Durlas Óg) for Seán O’Connor (52)
23. John O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers) for Rhys Byron (59-inj).

Referee: David Murnane (Cork)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Rebels unable to halt Kerry’s winning streak as Kingdom reach Munster minor football final

Underdogs is coming back to TG4 – and they’re looking for the next big stars

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel