Dublin: 26°C Thursday 11 August 2022

Young Dubs respond in style to beat Cork despite losing Crummey to red card

Ger Cunningham’s men bounced back to earn an eight-point victory at Páirc Uí Rinn tonight.

Cork's Patrick Horgan with Ben Quinn of Dublin.
Cork's Patrick Horgan with Ben Quinn of Dublin.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Dublin 2-19

Cork 1-14

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Ui Rinn

DUBLIN GOT THEIR first Allianz HL Division 1A points of the year as a first-half scoring burst of an unanswered 1-8 at Páirc Uí Rinn on Saturday evening put them into a lead Cork would not be able to reel in.

Having lost heavily to Tipperary last week, Dublin manager Ger Cunningham needed a response against his native county but Cork started as they finished against Clare, moving 0-4 to 0-1 ahead early on.

However, Ryan O’Dywer’s goal put Dublin 1-2 to 0-5 in front and the points began to flow, with Donal Burke getting the first of his eight. The full-forward could even have had a goal only for Anthony Nash to save his penalty.

Cork revived themselves coming up to half-time, Shane Kingston with a smartly-taken goal from Luke Meade’s pass before adding two points, and a 1-11 to 1-7 deficit at the interval was not insurmountable.

A general view of the game Goulmouth action at Páirc Uí Rinn. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Within six minutes of the restart, though, Dublin had reasserted themselves, Burke setting up Eoghan Conroy for a goal, and Burke, O’Dwyer, Chris Bennett and Eamon Dillon all added further points.

Not even the sending off of Chris Crummey – who also saw red when the counties met in the championship last summer – could destabilise Dublin, as a misfiring Cork never looked like mounting a late fightback.

Scorers for Dublin: Domhnall Burke 0-8 (0-4 frees, 0-1 65), Eoghan Conroy 1-2, Ryan O’Dwyer 1-1, Rian McBride 0-2 each, Chris Crummey, Eamon Dillon, Chris Bennett, Caolán Conway, Cian O’Sullivan, Fiontán Mac Gib 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-7 (0-5 frees, 0-1 65), Shane Kingston 1-2, Luke Meade 0-2, Mark Coleman (0-1 free), Alan Cadogan, Conor Lehane 0-1 each.


16. Conor Dooley (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

18. James Madden (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
3. Eoghan O’Donnell (Whitehall Colmcille)
4. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)

8. Ben Quinn (Crumlin)
6. Liam Rushe (St Patrick’s, Palmerstown)
7. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)

21. Caolán Conway (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

25. Eoghan Conroy (St Maur’s)
22. Rian McBride (St Vincent’s)
10. Eamon Dillon (Naomh Fionnbarra)

15. Fiontán Mac Gib (Setanta)
12. Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)


13. Chris Bennett (Faughs) for Quinn (49)
17. Cian McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes) for Conway (59)
26. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s) for O’Dwyer (63)
23. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes) for Dillon (67)
9. Domhnall Fox (St Jude’s) for Burke (70)


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Killian Burke (Midleton)
4. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
3. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)

11. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
15. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
10. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)


18. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s) for Spillane (25, injured)
17. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers) for Griffin (half-time)
26. Conor Lehane (Midleton) for Fitzgibbon (45)
22. Paul Haughney (Midleton) for Kearney (49)

Referee: Seán Cleere (Kilkenny)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Last year’s All-Ireland finalists open 2017 with wins and they both mean business

As it happened: Cork v Dublin, Division 1A hurling league

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: