Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Friday 14 May 2021

11 for Cork and 9 for Kilkenny in 2017 All-Star camogie nominees as winners to tour Madrid

Dublin, Galway, Clare, Wexford, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford all have nominees as well.

CORK AND KILKENNY lead the way in the 2017 camogie All-Star senior nominees and a historic first tour will take place this year with Madrid the destination.

Gemma O'Connor with Julie Ann Malone Cork's Gemma O'Connor and Kilkenny's Julie Ann Malone have both been nominated. Source: Gary Carr/INPHO

All-Star tours are a regular in GAA and ladies football with camogie now set to embark on that venture with the 2016 and 2017 winners facing each in an exhibition match in the Spanish capital as part of the tour from 29 November to 2 December.

The All-Star banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance, takes place on Saturday 4 November at the Citywest Hotel, when the 15 winners will be announced.

Champions Cork lead the way in the 45-player shortlist with 11 nominations while beaten finalists Kilkenny have nine nominees.

Eve O’Brien and Faye McCarthy Dublin's Eve O'Brien and Faye McCarthy have both been nominated. Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

All-Ireland semi-finalists Dublin and Galway have seven and six nominations respectively, with Clare (5), Wexford (4), Limerick (1), Tipperary (1) and Waterford (1) completing the list.

Cork’s Gemma O’Connor is in line for a remarkable 10th All-Star award.

Here’s the list of nominees in full:

Goalkeepers: Aoife Murray (Cork), Faye McCarthy (Dublin), Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny).


Full-Back Line: Máire McGrath (Clare), Rena Buckley (Cork), Laura Treacy (Cork), Eve O’Brien (Dublin), Áine Woods (Dublin), Tara Kenny (Galway), Catherine Foley (Kilkenny), Grace Walsh (Kilkenny), Sarah O’Connor (Wexford).

Half-Back Line: Róisín McMahon (Clare), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Eimear O’Sullivan (Cork), Eva Marie Elliott (Dublin), Hannah Hegarty (Dublin), Heather Cooney (Galway), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Bríd Gordon (Wexford).

Midfield: Orlaith Duggan (Clare), Ashling Thompson (Cork), Eimear McCarthy (Dublin), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Ann Marie Starr (Galway), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny).


Half-Forward Line: Aoife Keane (Clare), Orla Cronin (Cork), Orla Cotter (Cork), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Amy O’Connor (Cork), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick) Shelley Kehoe (Wexford).

Full-Forward Line: Chloe Morey (Clare), Aisling Maher (Dublin), Aoife Donohue (Galway), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Julie Ann Malone (Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny), Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Beth Carton (Waterford), Chloe Fox (Wexford)

Manager of the Year: Paudie Murray (Cork), John Davis (Meath), Johnny Greville (Westmeath).

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel