Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 2°C Monday 1 March 2021

Stack returns and Mayo unchanged as sides named for semi-final double-header

Sligo and Tyrone have also shown their hand ahead of their All-Ireland intermediate semi-final.

BREFFNI PARK PLAYS host to an exciting All-Ireland ladies football semi-final double-header tomorrow, with four sides vying for All-Ireland final places.

stack staunton The battle between Bríd Stack and Cora Staunton will be one to keep an eye on.

The main event is a mouth-watering All-Ireland senior semi-final meeting of Cork and Mayo (throw-in 4.45pm, live on TG4) to decide who will face Dublin in the decider on 24 September.

Reigning champions Cork have made one change to the side which steamrolled Galway in their quarter-final two weeks ago, as they go in search of their seventh All-Ireland title in-a-row.

2016 Player of the Year Bríd Stack is set to return from a hamstring injury, which ruled her out of action against the Tribeswomen the last day. Niamh Cotter is the player to make way.

Ephie Fitzgerald has decided to reshuffle the pack, with several positional changes in place. Stack slots into full-back, while Mourneabbey’s Eimear Meaney moves out to the half-back line with Annie Walsh and Melissa Duggan forming the midfield partnership.

Frank Browne meanwhile, has named an unchanged Mayo side, with the same fifteen starting that did in their quarter-final victory over Ulster champions Donegal.

It’s the first time the two sides will meet in the championship since the Rebels claimed an All-Ireland quarter-final win in 2014.

The Westerners will be hoping to end a 14-year wait to lift the Brendan Martin Cup, while Cork will be aiming to reach their 12th final in 13 years — all of which they have won.

Katie Walsh gets a shot away Sligo were knocked out at the intermediate semi-final stages by Kildare in Breffni Park last year. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

In the preceding intermediate semi-final, Sligo and Tyrone will go head-to-head (throw-in 3pm, live on TG4), with an All-Ireland final date with Tipperary on the line.

The Connacht and Ulster sides beat Roscommon and Leitrim respectively to book their last four spots.

The four starting sides are listed below, and you can see each panel in full in the embedded tweet.


1. Matina O’Brien (Clonakilty)

2. Emma Spillane (Bantry Blues)
3. Bríd Stack (St Mary’s)
4. Róisín Phelan (Aghada)

5. Aishling Hutchings (Fermoy)
6. Eimear Meaney (Mourneabbey)
7. Shauna Kelly (Araglen Desmonds Buí)

8. Annie Walsh (Inch Rovers)
9. Melissa Duggan (Dohenys)

10. Ciara O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey) – captain
11. Doireann O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey)
12. Orlagh Farmer (Midleton)

13. Áine O’Sullivan (Beara)
14. Eimear Scally (Éire Óg)
15. Orla Finn (Kinsale)


1. Yvonne Byrne (Ballyhaunis)

2. Orla Conlon (Castlebar Mitchells)
3. Sarah Tierney (Hollymount) – captain
4. Martha Carter (Carnacon)

5. Marie Corbett (Carnacon)
6. Rachel Kearns (CL McHale Rovers)
7. Fiona Doherty (Moy Davitts)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Aileen Gilroy (St Brigids)
9. Fiona McHale (Carnacon)

10. Doireann Hughes (Carnacon)
11. Niamh Kelly (Moy Davitts)
12. Ciara Whyte (Kilmoremoy)

13. Sarah Rowe (Kilmoremoy)
14. Cora Staunton (Carnacon)
15. Grace Kelly (Moy Davitts)


1. Noelle Gormley (St Nathy’s) – captain

2. Etna Flanagan (St Nathy’s)
3. Gráinne O’Loughlin (St Michael’s)
4. Jacqui Mulligan (St Farnan’s)

5. Lauren Boles (St Michael’s)
6. Eilise Codd (St Michael’s)
7. Ruth Goodwin (Coolrea/Strandhill)

8. Bernice Byrne (Geevagh)
9. Sarah Reynolds (Geevagh)

10. Áine Gormley (St Nathy’s)
11. Stephanie O’Reilly (Geevagh)
12. Laura-Ann Laffey (Coolrea/Strandhill)

13. Ciara Gorman (St Nathy’s)
14. Rachel Monaghan (Drumcliffe/Rosses Point)
15. Denise McGrath (Ballymote)


1. Shannon Lynch (Mná Na Deirge)

2. Emma Brennan (Trillick)
3. Joanne Barrett (Drumragh)
4. Caoileann Conway (Sperrin Óg)

5. Neamh Woods (Drumragh) – captain
6. Emma Louise Mulgrew (Cill Íseal)
7. Christiane Hunter (Omagh St Enda’s)

8. Méabh Mallon (Aodh Ruadh)
9. Emma Jane (Aodh Ruadh)

10. Niamh Hughes (Aodh Ruadh)
11. Maria Canavan (Errigal Ciarán)
12. Emma Smyth (St Dympna’s Dromore)

13. Niamh O’Neill (Sperrin Óg)
14. Gemma Begley (An Charraig Mhór)
15. Gráinne Rafferty (Cill Íseal)

Source: The42 Podcasts/SoundCloud

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

‘Simply the best. One of the greats’ – Tributes pour in for retiring Karl Lacey

Hurling may be the best thing we do as a nation but is something many never get to do at all

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel