This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Tuesday 28 January, 2020

Walsh and Kingston held in reserve for Cork's clash with Kilkenny

Rebels manager John Meyler has announced his team for Sunday’s quarter-final at Croke Park.

Cork senior hurling manager John Meyler.
Cork senior hurling manager John Meyler.
Image: Laszlo Geczo/INPHO

CORK SENIOR HURLING manager John Meyler has unveiled his side for Sunday’s All-Ireland quarter-final against Kilkenny at Croke Park (2pm).

It shows three changes in personnel from the team that started last weekend’s trouncing of Westmeath in Mullingar.

Sean O’Donoghue is restored to the defence in place of Christopher Joyce, while Daniel Kearney and Luke Meade return in attack.

Darragh Fitzgibbon will drop back into midfield at the expense of Tim O’Mahony, with Shane Kingston also making way despite chipping in with five points against Westmeath.

Aidan Walsh, who featured prominently for Cork during the Munster Championship, is also named among the substitutes after recovering from a finger injury.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)

5. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

10. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
15. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s — captain)


16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
18. Darren Browne (Kanturk)
19. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
20. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
21. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
22. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
23. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
24. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
25. Declan Dalton (Fr O’Neills)
26. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel