Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 2°C
James Crombie/INPHO Bill Cooper celebrates his goal off the bench in the first clash with Waterford.
# Deise
Bill Cooper starts as Cork make just one change for Waterford replay
Cian McCarthy drops to the bench as the Rebels gear up for the replay at Semple Stadium.

CORK MANAGER JIMMY Barry-Murphy and his selectors have made just one change to their starting team for the Munster Hurling Senior Championship quarter-final replay against Waterford on Sunday.

Youghal man Bill Cooper comes into the half-forward line in place of Cian McCarthy, who drops onto the bench. Cooper scored a 1-01 as a replacement in the side’s first meeting.

The Rebels played out a thrilling 1-21 to 1-21 draw with the Déise in Semple Stadium, Thurles last time out, but Barry-Murphy will be expecting a more convincing performance from his players in the replay.

Cork’s selectors have announced that they had a full panel of players to select from for the replay, barring long-term injury absentee Luke O’Farrell. Led by captain Patrick Cronin, the players will be keen to repay the management’s faith on Sunday (throw-in 3.30pm).

Waterford players defend a Patrick Horgan free James Crombie / INPHO The drawn replay between Cork and Waterford was a tense affair. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Cork (SHC v Waterford)

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
12. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown - Captain)
13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


16. Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)
17. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)
18. Killian Burke (Midleton)
19. Willian Egan (Kilbrin)
20. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
21. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
22. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
23. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
24. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfields)
25. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)
26. Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)

A decade ago Tomás Ó Flatharta beat the Dubs, can he do it again next Sunday?

‘Our aim is to get to All-Ireland quarter-finals again’ – why Jason Ryan took the Kildare job