Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 8°C
INPHO/Cathal Noonan Colaiste Eoin's Dara O'Caomhanaigh tackled by Cian Scanlon and Ben McCormack of Newbridge.
# Schools GAA
Corn Uí Mhuirí: Wins for DLS Macroom, Chríost Rí and St Brendan's
Three of the quarter-finals in the premier Munster colleges football competition took place today while there were also action in the Leinster colleges SAFC.

LAST YEAR’S FINALISTS De La Salle (Macroom), 2011 winners Chríost Rí and 2010 champions St Brendan’s all booked their places in the Corn Uí Mhuirí semi-finals this afternoon.

Pa Lucey proved the scoring hero for De La Salle with his injury-time point securing a 1-8 to 1-7 victory against St Fachtna’s (Skibbereen) in Ballineen.

The teams were evenly-balanced in the opening half and were tied at 0-4 apiece at the interval.

De La Salle got an early second-half boost with Kilmurry’s Daniel Cahalane finding the net in the second-half and they still lead by 1-5 to 0-7 with ten minutes remaining.

A goal for St Fachtna’s by Ilen Rovers player Josh Pickett created an exciting finale but while the teams were tied at 1-7 apiece with four minutes left, it was Lucey who popped up with the winner for De La Salle.

The Macroom school will have to wait to find out the identity of their semi-final opponents as the quarter-final between reigning champions Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne and Rochestown College was called off today due to an unplayable pitch in Killarney. The game is instead refixed for Friday afternoon at 2.30pm in the Dr Crokes grounds in Killarney.

In Mallow, Coláiste Chríost Rí’s clash with West Limerick Colleges did go ahead and in difficult conditions it was Coláiste Chríost Rí who won out by 0-7 to 0-3. The Cork school, who included county minor boss Ephie Fitzgerald amongst their coaching team, lead by 0-4 to 0-1 at the interval.

Conor Horgan, a Cork minor last year, and Ryan Kennedy were amongst their point-scorers while Stephen Cronin also did well as they held off the challenge of the Limerick amalgamation outfit.

They will face St Brendan’s in the semi-final after the Killarney-based school were victors by 0-9 to 0-5 against St Flannan’s (Ennis) in wretched weather conditions in Charleville.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

St Brendan’s, managed by former Dr Crokes Munster title winning boss Harry O’Neill, were in front by 0-6 to 0-1 at half-time yet St Flannan’s fought back in the second-half. They hit the opening two points after the break but then St Brendan’s goalkeeper Andrew O’Connor made a crucial save from a penalty.

In a low-scoring second-half, St Brendan’s were able to hold on from there and grind out a four-point win. Micheal Burns, Kelvin Teahan and Tony Brosnan all chipped in with 0-2 apiece for St Brendan’s while Martin O’Leary, a Clare dual minor last year, shot 0-4 for St Flannan’s.

Meanwhile in the Leinster Colleges SAFC, the second round action today saw Athlone CC, Knockbeg College, Good Counsel (New Ross) and St Peter’s (Wexford) all booked their places in the quarter-finals. Athlone CC travelled to Celbridge and were 1-8 to 0-4 victors over Salesian College. They produced a strong second-half display that helped to build on their half-time lead of 1-1 to 0-2.

In Dr Cullen Park, Knockbeg College were convincing winners by 3-10 to 1-4 against Westmeath outfit St Joseph’s (Rochfortbridge) after enjoying a 2-4 to 1-2 advantage at the interval.

Meanwhile in Hawkfield in Newbridge, it was Good Counsel (New Ross) who emerged successful with a 2-11 to 1-8 win against Dundalk Colleges. The Wexford school were 1-7 to 1-6 to the good at the break.

In Stradbally in Laois, St Peter’s (Wexford) claimed an exciting extra-time triumph against St Mel’s (Longford) by 2-14 to 3-7. At the end of normal time the sides were locked together at 1-12 to 3-6.

Finally Stillorgan school Coláiste Eoin were 1-16 to 0-8 winners against Patrician College (Newbridge) at the Bray Emmett’s astro pitch in Bray.

Corn Ui Mhuiri quarter-finals
De La Salle (Macroom) 1-8 St Fachtna’s (Skibbereen) 1-7
St Brendan’s (Killarney) 0-9 St Flannan’s (Ennis) 0-5
Coláiste Chríost Rí 0-7 West Limerick Colleges 0-3

Leinster Colleges SAFC second round
Athlone CC 1-8 Salesian College (Celbridge) 0-4
Knockbeg 3-10 St Joseph’s (Rochfortbridge) 1-4
Good Counsel (New Ross) 2-11 Dundalk Colleges 1-8
St Peter’s (Wexford) 2-14 St Mel’s (Longford) 3-7
Coláiste Eoin (Stillorgan) 1-16 Patrician College (Newbridge) 0-8

DCU duo Walsh and Boyle still in the dark

Cork attacker Goulding set for knee surgery