Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
INPHO/Cathal Noonan Kerry manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice.
# Schools GAA
Stage set for Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-finals
The last eight clashes in the prestigious Munster Colleges football competition take place tomorrow.

KERRY BOSS EAMONN Fitzmaurice begins a hectic week of activity when taking charge of reigning champions Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne in tomorrow’s Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-finals.

Next Saturday Fitzmaurice takes his Kerry team into action in the McGrath Cup final against Tipperary.

And on Sunday he will feature for his club Finuge in the All-Ireland IFC semi-final against Kildare champions Monasterevin.

But the focus tomorrow is on Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne who face Rochestown College in Killarney. The Dingle-based school won the Munster Colleges JFC last year and also have eight of the team that won the Corn Uí Mhuirí title.

Padraig Ó Conchúir, Cathal Ó Luing, Tom Ó Súilleabháin, Padraig Ó Dubháin, Maitiú Ó Flatharta, Barra Ó Súilleabháin, Eanna Ó Conchúir and Séin Ó hUallacháin are all survivors from that side.

Their opponents Rochestown College reached the quarter-final stage last year after returning to the competition following a 50-year absence.

Last year’s finalists DLS Macroom take on St Fachtna’s (Skibbereen) in Ballineen. The Macroom school have eight of the side that lost last year’s decider by eight points against PS Chorca Dhuibhne – Dylan Dineen, Sean Kelleher, Sean O’Sullivan, Peter Kelleher, Padraig Berhanu, James Moynihan, Padraig Lucey and John Murphy.

St Fachtna’s challenge will be spearheaded by Darragh Cahalane, captain Jack Bushe and Michael Hurley, younger brother of Cork senior panelist Brian.

In Rathkeale, 2010 champions St Brendan’s face St Flannan’s. St Brendan’s are managed by Harry O’Neill, who guided Dr Crokes to Kerry senior titles in 2010 and 2011 and the Munster club crown in 2011, while last year’s county minors Kieran Murphy and Conor Keane are their key players.

Their opponents have several members of last year’s Clare minor team to call upon in Liam Corbett, Eoin Clancy, Eoin Hanrahan, Kieran Malone, Barry Lynch, Martin O’Leary and Eimhin Courtney.

The last quarter-final sees Coláiste Chríost Rí face West Limerick Colleges in Mallow. The combination outfit of West Limerick Colleges are an amalgamation of Colaiste na Trocaire of Rathkeale, Colaiste Ide agus Iosef Abbeyfeale and SMI Newcastle West.

They have six members of last year’s Limerick minor football panel in David Condron, Eoin O’Donnell, Darren Jones, Daniel Daly, Jack Breen and Cian Sheehan.

While the Nemo Rangers duo of Stephen Cronin and Conor Horgan, who were part of Cork’s minor team last year, are central to Coláiste Chríost Rí’s ambitions

Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-finals

Coláiste Chríost Rí v West Limerick Colleges, Mallow, 1.30pm
St Brendan’s (Killarney) v St Flannan’s (Ennis), Rathkeale, 1.30pm
DLS Macroom v St Fachtna’s (Skibbereen), Ballineen, 1.30pm
PS Chorca Dhuibhne v Rochestown College, Killarney, 1.30pm

McCaffrey: Dubs ‘fully behind the cause’ despite dual losses

Ger Brennan: ‘You can’t look at a fella now sometimes without getting booked’


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel