This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Wednesday 19 December, 2018

Conor McGrath leads the way as Cratloe wrap up first SHC title in five years

McGrath scored 0-6 as Cratloe completed the first part of a potential hurling-football double.

Gerard O’Grady and Alan Tuohy with Conor Ryan Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cratloe 0-14

Crusheen 0-06

CRATLOE EASED TO a first Clare Senior Hurling title in five years in what is the first of a potential hurling and football double.

With the senior football decider to come next Sunday against Éire Óg back in Clare headquarters, Cratloe shortened their path by controlling matters from the outset, leading from start to finish in front of an attendance of 6,369.

In contrast to the 2010 decider between the pair that saw Crusheen claim their first ever title a year on from Cratloe’s breakthrough, this was an open affair that suited Cratloe’s All-Ireland winning forward division.

Led by four points from All Star Conor McGrath who finished as the championship’s top scorer with 7-41, the 2009 champions built up a 0-9 to 0-2 half-time advantage as they benefitted from Crusheen’s profligacy in front of the posts that tallied 11 wides by the halfway mark.

Ciaran OÕDoherty and Conor Ryan Source: James Crombie/INPHO

McGrath could have put the result beyond doubt just after the restart when intercepting a Crusheen clearance and bearing down on goal but his effort was excellently stopped by goalkeeper Donal Tuohy.

Two Paddy Vaughan points did reduce the deficit to six entering the final quarter but Crusheen never looked like getting the goals they so badly craved.

Instead, Cratloe punished a flagging Crusheen with last year’s All-Ireland winners Cathal McInerney, Podge Collins and Conor McGrath all on target to run out comprehensive winners.

Scorers for Cratloe: Conor McGrath 0-6 (4 frees); Sean Collins, Cathal McInerney 0-2; Gearoid Considine, David Collins, Padraic Collins, Liam Markham (free) 0-1 eachScorers for Crusheen: Paddy Vaughan 0-5 (3 frees); Colin Vaughan 0-1

Gearoid Ryan

Shane O’Leary
Michael Hawes
David Ryan

Sean Chaplin
Conor Ryan
Enda Boyce

Martin Oige Murphy
Liam Markham (Captain)

Shane Gleeson
Padraic Collins
Sean Collins

Cathal McInerney
Gearoid Considine
Conor McGrath

David Collins for Gleeson (37)
Barry Duggan for O’Leary (58)
Damien Browne for Considine (61)
John O’Gorman for D. Ryan (61)
Philip Gleeson for Chaplin (63)

Donal Tuohy

Jason Greene
Cathal Dillon
Alan Brigdale

Ciaran O’Doherty (Captain)
Cian Dillon
Shaun Dillon

Paddy Vaughan
Fergus Kennedy

Gearoid O’Donnell
Gerry O’Grady
Alan Tuohy

Conor O’Donnell
Joe Meaney
Colin Vaughan

Darragh O’Doherty for Tuohy (42)
Jamie Fitzgibbon for Meaney (47)
Cronan Dillon for G. O’Donnell (55)
Conor O’Loughlin for Brigdale (63)

Callinan and co are back in action today in the Tipperary SHC

Ballincollig reach their first ever Cork SFC final with win over Nemo

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Eoin Brennan

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel