Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Ken Sutton/INPHO
# Equaliser
Ice-cool Cathal McInerney sends Clare SFC final to replay with stoppage-time free
Cratloe and Kilmurry Ibrickane will have to meet again for top honours in Clare.

Cratloe 1-09

Kilmurry Ibrickane 0-12

A REPLAY WILL be required to separate Clare’s current kingpins Cratloe and Kilmurry Ibrickane after a tense decider in Cusack Park, Ennis this afternoon.

Both clubs have amassed two titles this decade, with the battle for supremacy seeing the sides level on eight occasions over the hour as Cathal McInerney’s injury-time free finally forced another day out.

With Keelan Sexton and Cathal McInerney leading the way up front for their respective sides, a blow-for-blow first quarter was ignited when brothers Podge and David Collins combined to set up McInerney for the opening goal for Cratloe in the 19th minute at 1-3 to 0-4.

However, Kilmurry Ibrickane reacted positively to kick the last four points of the half through Niall and Shane Hickey, Enda Coughlan and Michael Hogan and edge into the break 0-8 to 1-4 in front.

A confrontation on their way to the dressing rooms only resulted in Kilmurry Ibrickane unused substitute John Sexton receiving a red card as on the field, goal chances were spurned at either end before Cratloe reeled their opponents in with points from McInerney and Conor Ryan at 1-6 to 0-9 by the 40th minute.

From there to the finish, it went point for point, albeit that Kilmurry Ibrickane had chances to extend their minimum advantage earned by Keelan Sexton before Cratloe finally gained parity for the final time in the 62nd minute thanks to the icy cool nerve of McInerney.

The replay is expected to take place in a fortnight’s time back in Cusack Park.

Scorers for Cratloe: Cathal McInerney 1-5 (3f); David Collins, Podge Collins, Conor Ryan, Shane Gleeson 0-1 each

Scorers for Kilmurry Ibrickane: Keelan Sexton 0-5 (2f); Ian McInerney (1f, 1’45) 0-2; Niall Hickey, Shane Hickey, Enda Coughlan, Michael Hogan, Noel Downes 0-1 each


1. Pierce DeLoughrey (Captain)

2. Sean Chaplin
3. Barry Duggan
4. Antoin McFadden

5. Martin Oige Murphy
4. Michael Hawes
7. Liam Markham

8. Conor Ryan
9. John Galvin

14. Stevie McHugh
11. Sean Collins
12. Conor Cooney

13. Cathal McInerney
10. Podge Collins
15. David Collins

17. Enda Boyce for McFadden (18, inj)
21. Sean Hynan for Cooney (37, inj)
18. Shane Gleeson for McHugh (39)

Kilmurry Ibrickane

1. Ian McInerney

2. Mark Killeen
5. Shane Hickey
3. Darren Hickey

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

4. Ciaran Morrissey
6. Martin McMahon
7. Darragh Sexton

8. Mark McCarthy
9. Keith King

12. Michael Hogan
11. Michael O’Dwyer
10. Niall Hickey

15. Keelan Sexton
14. Enda Coughlan
21. Declan Callinan

Noel Downes for N. Hickey (38)
Steven Moloney for Hogan (47)
Peter O’Dwyer for McCarthy (54, inj)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Éire Óg)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Recent champions set to clash after Mayo senior quarter-final draw is made

Dr Crokes overcome late red cards to Kerry seniors to beat Dingle and reach county final