This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 17 November, 2018

Diarmuid O'Connor set for Mayo senior debut as 11 of All-Ireland side to face New York

The Connacht championship opening round tie takes place in Gaelic Park next Sunday evening.

Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor makes his senior championship debut on Sunday.
Mayo's Diarmuid O'Connor makes his senior championship debut on Sunday.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

DIARMUID O’CONNOR WILL make his senior championship debut for Mayo against New York on Sunday alongside 11 of the team that contested last September’s All-Ireland senior final.

O’Connor, an All-Ireland minor winner in 2013, has been named at right half-forward for the Gaelic Park clash and joins his older brother Cillian in attack.

He’s one of four different players drafted into the starting side from last year’s final loss to Dublin by manager James Horan. Full-back Kevin Keane, midfielder Jason Gibbons and left half-forward Jason Doherty are all handed starting berths as well.

Ger Cafferkey, Chris Barrett, Alan Dillon and Alan Freeman are the players not selected on this occasion. Cafferkey and Dillon have both been bothered by injury problems of late.

Both Cafferkey and Freeman started the recent Division 1 league semi-final loss against Derry but miss out here along with Brendan Harrison, Shane McHale and Mickey Sweeney.

The O’Connor brothers, Tom Cunniffe, Keane and Seamus O’Shea are the players drafted in to replace them.

Cillian O'Connor Cillian O'Connor is back in action for Mayo on Sunday. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

1. Robbie Hennelly – Breaffy
2. Tom Cunniffe – Castlebar Mitchels
3. Kevin Keane – Westport
4. Keith Higgins – Ballyhaunis
5. Lee Keegan – Westport
6. Colm Boyle – Davitts
7. Donal Vaughan – Ballinrobe
8. Jason Gibbons – Ballintubber
9. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
10. Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber
11. Seamus O’Shea – Breaffy
12. Jason Doherty – Burrishoole
13. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore
14. Andy Moran – Ballaghaderreen (Captain)
15. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber

11 counties represented in New York team to face Mayo next Sunday

Mayo are Big Apple bound – ‘It’s a cool setting over there and New York is a class city’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: