Kerry's Kieran Donaghy with the ball. INPHO/Kieran Murray
Jimmy's Winnin Matches

Division 1 FL: Donegal condemn Kerry to another league loss

The Kingdom are propping up the table after this afternoon’s clash in Ballybofey.

Donegal 1-12
Kerry 0-6

JIM MCGUINNESS SAW his Donegal team bounce back from last week’s reversal to Tyrone in Ballybofey this afternoon.

And it was Michael Murphy, who was sent-off and missed a penalty in Omagh last Sunday, that lead the way as he shot 1-5 including a goal from a penalty.

The game was a miserable experience for Kerry as they suffered their fourth successive defeat after a long trip up to the North-West.

The Kingdom finished the game with 14 men when Tomás O Se was sent-off while Kieran O’Leary missed a second-half penalty when Donegal net minder Paul Durcan stopped his effort.

Manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice also lost Marc O Sé and Kieran Donaghy to injury during the game as his team are still searching for their first points in the league.

It took Kerry 18 minutes to get off the mark when Johnny Buckley pointed but they still trailed 1-5 to 0-3 at the interval.

Murphy fired the ball to the net for the only goal of the game while Rory Kavanagh and Neil Gallagher controlled the middle of the field for the reigning All-Ireland champions.

Kerry were awarded a penalty in the second-half when Donaghy was fouled by Eamonn McGee but O’Leary’s spot kick was saved and Donegal ran out comfortable winners by nine points at the finish.

Scorers for Donegal: Michael Murphy 1-5 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), Leo McLoone 0-2, Rory Kavanagh, Neil Gallagher, Ryan Bradley, Patrick McBrearty, Colm McFadden (0-1f) 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kerry: Johnny Buckley 0-3 (0-1f), Tomás O Sé, Eoin Brosnan 0-1 each.

DONEGAL: P Durcan; P McGrath, N McGee, E McGee; Declan Walsh, F McGlynn, R McHugh; R Kavanagh, N Gallagher; R Wherity, L McLoone, R Bradley; P McBrearty, M Murphy, C McFadden.

Subs: M McElhinney for Wherity 53 mins, D Molloy for McBrearty 59, M Smyth for Kavanagh 63, G McFadden for Gallagher 65

KERRY: B Kealy; M O‘Sé, A O’Maloney, S Enright; T O’Sé, K Young, P Crowley; K Donaghy, E Brosnan; J Lyne, D Walsh, J Buckley; J O’Donoghue, D O’Sullivan 0-1, M Geaney.

Subs: B McGuire for M O‘Sé 28 mins, F Fitzgerald for O’Donoghue 47, J Sherwood for Crowley 53,  K O’Leary for O’Sullivan 63, A Garnett for Donaghy 70

Referee: Derek Fahy (Longford).

Division 1 FL: Cork consign Tyrone to first league defeat

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.