Dublin: 16°C Saturday 28 May 2022

Cork hit 34 points en route to an easy win over Dublin

The Rebels posted a massive tally to give the Dubs their first Division 1A defeat.

Cork's Conor Lehane under pressure from Dublin's Ben Quinn and Peter Kelly.
Cork's Conor Lehane under pressure from Dublin's Ben Quinn and Peter Kelly.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork 0-34
Dublin 1-20

THE CORK HURLERS looked impressive tonight at Croke Park as they kept the umpires busy during a comfortable Allianz Hurling League Division 1A defeat of Dublin.

Jimmy Barry-Murphy’s side hit 21 points in the first half of an 11-point win, with 11 different players getting on the scoresheet for Cork in their second successive victory. It was a night to forget for Dublin, who were aiming for a third win on the trot after a good start to their campaign.

At times in the closing stages of the game it was like shooting practice for Cork, for whom Patrick Horgan top-scored with 14 points — four of which came from play.

However, the Rebels were particularly impressive in defence. Eamonn Dillon and Colm Cronin both appeared to be in for certain second-half goals for Dublin, before being neatly hooked by Shane O’Neill and Cormac Murphy respectively.

It was a dominant first-half display from Cork, during which they made the most of the vast amounts of open space afforded to them by Dublin.

The Dubs struggled to create opportunities throughout the opening period, but when they did, Ger Cunningham’s men often took the wrong option.

They hit seven first-half wides, while several more attempts dropped harmlessly short into the paw of Cork goalkeeper Anthony Nash.

Alan Kelly and Shane O'Neill check on Christopher Joyce Cork's Christopher Joyce was carried off early on with an injury. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Cork set the tone for their scoring spree just 10 seconds after the throw-in when Rob O’Shea scored their first point. Shane Durkin responded almost immediately for Dublin, but their scores were too infrequent.

They had to wait 11 minutes for their next point, before gaps of five and seven minutes for their following scores. But the introduction of Paul Ryan in the 32nd minute did help to keep them ticking over on the scoreboard.

Ryan finished the game with nine points, including two fine efforts from play. Dublin actually hit four points in a five-minute spell before the break, but Cork still went in with a 0-21 to 0-8 advantage.

Despite out-scoring their opponents in the second half, a nine-point gap was as close as Dublin got. Liam Rushe batted the ball home for the only goal of the game in the 69th minute of the game, but it was far too little too late.

A dejected Niall McMorrow A dejected Niall McMorrow at full-time. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-14 (0-10f); Seamus Harnedy 0-5; Luke O’Farrell and Rob O’Shea 0-4 each; Conor Lehane, Lorcan McLoughlin, Daniel Kearney, Alan Cadogan, Mark Ellis, Cormac Murphy, Brian Lawton 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Paul Ryan 0-9 (0-7f); David Treacy 0-3; Liam Rushe 1-0; Shane Durkin, Niall McMorrow and Danny Sutcliffe 0-2 each; Colm Cronin and David O’Callaghan 0-1 each.


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

2. Shane O’Neill (Bishopstown)
3. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
4. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)

5. Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)

10. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
11. Seamus Harnedy (St.Ita’s)
12. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

21. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers) for Joyce (7, inj)
22. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr) for Walsh (53)
23. Stephen Moylan (Douglas) for Cadogan (57)
26. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons) for O’Farrell (61)
20. Andy Walsh (Killeagh) for O’Shea (65)


1. Alan Nolan (St Brigid’s)

2. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala)
3. Michael Carton (O’Toole’s)
4. Paul Schutte (Cuala)

5. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
6. Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields)
7. Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

8. Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
9. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

10. Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes)
11. Eamonn Dillon (Nh Fionnbarra)
12. Danny Sutcliffe (St Jude’s)

13. David Treacy (Cuala)
14. Liam Rushe (St Pat’s, Palmerstown)
15. Mark Schutte (Cuala)

25. Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for M. Schutte (32)
21. Ben Quinn (Crumlin) for Keaney (HT)
24. Colm Cronin (Cuala) for O’Dwyer (HT)
26. David O’Callaghan (Ballyboden St Enda’s) for Dillon (58)
23. Cian Boland (St Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Ruaidh) for McMorrow (63)

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway). 

Fitzmaurice on Galvin return: ‘If it works it’s fantastic, if it doesn’t work, what’s the big deal?’

Cody makes four changes to Kilkenny team while Galway bring Lally into defence

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: