Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Sunday 7 March 2021

Dublin's three-goal blast gets them past Mayo in All-Ireland semi-final replay

The Dubs are getting set for a final date with Kerry.

Dublin and Mayo rising to battle for possession.
Dublin and Mayo rising to battle for possession.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Dublin 3-15
Mayo 1-14

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

A THREE-GOAL blast in the last quarter of the game pushed Dublin past Mayo in a pulsating All-Ireland semi-final replay today at Croke Park.

A cracking first-half saw the teams tied at 0-10 apiece before Mayo looked to have made a major breakthrough when Cillian O’Connor skilfully slotted to the net in the 43rd minute.

At the midway mark of the second-half Mayo were in front 1-12 to 0-11 but it was Dublin who powered for the finish line.

Firstly Bernard Brogan diverted a Brian Fenton shot to the net in the 56th minute before Brogan turned provider by setting up Philly McMahon for Dublin’s second goal two minutes later.

That propelled Dublin ahead by 2-12 to 1-12 and they closed out the game from there with sub Kevin McManamon hammering the final nail in Mayo’s coffin with a bullet to the net four minutes from time.

Bernard Brogan with Chris Barrett Dublin's Bernard Brogan gets past Mayo's Chris Barrett Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Dublin’s power and strength was too much for Mayo to handle in the closing stages. They outscored 3-4 to 0-2 in the closing twenty minutes to repeat their 2013 All-Ireland final success over the Connacht champions.

The match was evenly contested throughout the opening period as the teams were level on seven occasions. The O’Connor brothers notched points to send Mayo in front 0-5 to 0-3 by the 16th minute.

Dublin responded, largely courtesy of Paddy Andrews and Ciaran Kilkenny’s creativity, and went ahead 0-8 to 0-7 courtesy of Andrews in the 27th minute. They could have hit the net as well but McMahon blasted over the bar with Dean Rock lurking inside for a pass.

Philly McMahon celebrates scoring his side's second goal Philly McMahon celebrates Dublin's second goal Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Aidan O’Shea tied the teams at 0-8 apiece before Brian Fenton and Lee Keegan traded scores. Then Kilkenny and Cillian O’Connor did likewise to tie the teams at 0-10 apiece.

Mayo lost Seamus O’Shea to an early second-half black card but his replacement Andy Moran was fouled for a free that Cillian O’Connor pointed and the Ballintubber man then netted after excellent work from Moran to create the opening.

That placed Mayo in an advantageous position but they couldn’t close out the deal as Dublin overwhelmed them in the finale.

John Small and Diarmuid Connolly after the game John Small and Diarmuid Connolly after the game. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Paddy Andrews 0-5, Philly McMahon 1-2, Bernard Brogan, Kevin McManamon 1-1 each, Ciarán Kilkenny 0-2, James McCarthy, Brian Fenton, Dean Rock (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Mayo: Cillian O’Connor 1-7 (0-6f), Diarmuid O’Connor 0-2, Lee Keegan, Aidan O’Shea, Kevin McLoughlin, Barry Moran, Patrick Durcan 0-1 each.

Cillian OÕConnor collides with goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton Mayo's Cillian O'Connor collides with Dublin goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

3. Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
2. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)

5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge-Street)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
18. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents)
11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)

15. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/ER)
14. Paddy Andrews (St Brigids)
13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)

Bernard Brogan celebrates scoring a goal Bernard Brogan celebrates scoring Dublin's first goal Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

23. Michael Darragh MacAuley (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for Bastick (44)
21. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala) for Cooper (44)
24. Kevin McManamon (St Judes) for Rock (53)
14. Alan Brogan (St Oliver Plunketts/ER) for Flynn (51)
22. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrines) for Connolly (67)
26. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams) for Bernard Brogan (71)

Aidan O'Shea bursts through the Dublin defence Mayo's Aidan O'Shea bursts through the Dublin defence. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO


16. Rob Hennelly — Breaffy

6. Chris Barrett – Belmullet
2. Ger Cafferkey – Ballina Stephenites
4. Keith Higgins – Ballyhaunis (Capt.)

5. Lee Keegan – Westport
3. Donal Vaughan – Ballinrobe
7. Colm Boyle – Davitts

8. Seamus O’Shea – Breaffy
9. Tom Parsons – Charlestown Sarsfields

10. Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber
15. Jason Doherty – Burrishoole
12. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore

19. Barry Moran – Castlebar Mitchels
14. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber
11. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy

Cillian OÕConnor celebrates scoring Cillian O'Connor celebrates hitting the net for Mayo. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

20. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels) for Vaughan (34)
21. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen) for Seamus O’Shea (black card) (39)
26. Alan Freeman (Aghamore) for Barry Moran (54)
13. David Drake (Ballaghaderreen) for Boyle (60)
22. Stephen Coen (Hollymount-Carramore) for Parsons (6%)
24. Mark Ronaldson (Shrule-Glencorrib) for McLoughlin (70)

Referee: Eddie Kinsella (Laois)

Dublin book final spot and chance to seek Cork revenge

Kildare are on their way to Croke Park after going goal crazy against Offaly

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: