James Crombie/INPHO
the teams are in

Old foes Dublin and Mayo show their hand for tomorrow's All-Ireland final showdown

No changes, as of yet anyway…

SIX-IN-A-ROW CHASING DUBLIN and old foes Mayo have named unchanged sides for tomorrow’s All-Ireland senior football final showdown.

All eyes will be on Croke Park under Saturday Night Lights [throw-in 5pm, live on RTÉ Two and Sky Sports Mix] as Dessie Farrell and James Horans’ sides do battle for the Sam Maguire.

The champions stick with the same 15 starters that swatted Cavan aside in their semi-final two weeks ago.

Robbie McDaid, Paddy Small and Sean Bugler are all down to start in their first All-Ireland senior decider, while Paul Mannion, Brian Howard, Philly McMahon, Michael Darragh MacAuley and Cormac Costello are among the serial winners held in reserve.

Horan has also named an unchanged team, though as always, late switches could come before throw-in. But for now, the same Green and Red side that put Tipperary to the sword in the last four start tomorrow.

Scorer of a remarkable 4-9 that day, star forward Cillian O’Connor makes his 95th senior appearance for the county at HQ. He’s one of seven who started the 2017 final loss; the others being David Clarke, Chris Barrett, Lee Keegan, Patrick Durcan, Kevin McLoughlin and Aidan O’Shea.

The sides’ rivalry through the modern era is like no other, and they now meet in the showpiece for the fourth time in eight seasons. They last locked horns in championship in last year’s semi-final.


1. Stephen Cluxton (Parnells — captain)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)
3. Davy Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)

5. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
6. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
7. Robbie McDaid (Ballyboden St Endas) 

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

10. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)
11. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12. Seán Bugler (St Oliver Plunkett’s/ER)

13. Paddy Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
15. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)


16. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)
17. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
18. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna)
19. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
20. Brian Howard (Raheny)
21. Tom Lahiff (St Judes)
22. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrine’s)
23. Michael Darragh MacAuley (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
24. Paul Mannion (Kilmacud Crokes)
25. Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
26. Kevin McManamon (St Judes)


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Chris Barrett (Clontarf, Dublin)
3. Oisín Mullin (Kilmaine)
4. Lee Keegan (Westport)

5. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)
7. Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport)

8. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina Deel Rovers)
9. Matthew Ruane (Breaffy)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Ryan O’Donoghue (Belmullet)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Tommy Conroy (The Neale)
14. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy — captain)
15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber)


16. Robert Hennelly (Breaffy)
17. Padraig O’Hora (Ballina Stephenites)
18. Michael Plunkett (Ballintubber)
19. Rory Brickenden (Westport)
20. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
21. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
22. Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina)
23. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
24. James Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
25. James Carr (Ardagh)
26. Darren Coen (Hollymount-Carramore).


Subscribe to The42′s new member-led GAA Championship show with Marc Ó Sé and Shane Dowling. 

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel